KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

I’m a jerk.

with 26 comments

Heeeey kafir friends. I’m so sorry for worrying everyone.  I wasn’t honor killed or anything.  I’ve just had a really shiteous couple of months that didn’t leave much time for anything fun.  Here’s what’s been going on in my life lately:

1. They fired some more people at work and put me on even more projects.  I’ve been working late every night for who-knows-how-long.

2. I got a sweet new MacBook…

3. …the same day I found out I owe $3k in taxes.  So I had to take on a stupid, time-consuming freelance project to make ends meet.  Suuuuuuucks.

4. My landlord just raised our rent.

Pretty much all of my free time was spent eating or sleeping, and occasionally doing laundry.  Ever want to really depress yourself?  Take your salary and figure out how much you’re actually getting paid by the hour when you’re working crazy overtime.  Not.  Nice.

I’m on vacation this week and I’ve been sleeping till noon and harassing KafirBoy.  I wish it could last forever, but guess what?  It’s back to the grind next week.  Boo!  Hiss!

I haven’t touched the Quran since things have been outta control.  I’ll pick it up eventually, but I feel like I have too much bullshit to deal with in my day-to-day right now.  The good book was bringing me down, man.  I needed a break.  I promise I’ll be be back at it soon.  And I promise I’ll check in so you guys know I haven’t been beaten up or anything.

Hang tight!  And if you can, please fix the economy so my life can go back to being fun again.  K, thnx.  I’ll be back.

Written by kafirgirl

December 30, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Posted in Quran

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Considering that you had to deal with all of that crap I can’t help but completly understand why you haven’t updated. Hell the fact that you have even bothered to let us know shows your a more considerate person than I.

    I wish I could fix the economy but unfortunately my Deus ex Machina is in the shop and they just laid off most of the workers so I can’t help you there.

    Well I’ll hope for the best but being the hard lined nihilistic skeptic that I am I doubt any good will come from it.

    Love the blog anyway!

    DrakeDarkHunter

    December 30, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  2. sounds really stressful, but it’s a relief to hear that nothing terrible has happend to you

    randomness

    December 30, 2008 at 7:15 pm

  3. Absolutely fantastic to see your post!!!!

    I’ve a new MacBook too – woohoo!

    My very best wishes to you and all your readers for a great 2009 – despite what so many are saying!

    kics

    December 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm

  4. Hey KG,

    Good to see you back at the old stand! Take good care of yourself. Now that we know you are OK – we’ll stop worrying.

    Yeah life can be a bitch sometimes but I did’nt know the economy was draining the bejezus outta you. I’d have fixed it earlier if I knew. Well… better late than never.

    Gotta go and fix the economy now. I’ll be praying to Allah the most kind, beneficient and wise dude.

    Rahul

    December 30, 2008 at 8:08 pm

  5. KG,

    I just sent you an email at KG@gmail. Pls review mesg there.

    Rahul

    December 30, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  6. Glad to hear you are o.k., well, as o.k. as can be expected. Just like practically every company I’ve been in. Let’s lay off a bunch of people and everybody can just pick up the slack on all the other projects they never heard of. Hey, “resources” are plug and play, right?

    Macs are pretty cool. We have one at home that I never have time to play on. I’ll get right to work on that economy thing. If I had known it was going to get this bad for everyone, I’d have put in that extra hour three Thursdays ago. :)

    liquidthinker

    December 30, 2008 at 9:29 pm

  7. Real life has a nasty habit of getting in the way. We’ll be here when you come back. I mean, my RSS reader will be here, and then it will let me know you’re back. :-)

    Mauro

    December 30, 2008 at 10:31 pm

  8. Well, hope things get better for you. But eh, maybe there’s some time in this vacay for one little LOL Muslim? Hmmm? A late Xmas gift for us?

    Happy To Be Gone

    December 31, 2008 at 4:08 am

  9. Oops, I always was under the impression that slavery was abolished in the US.

    Well, it’s good to read that you’re indeed still alive. Take care. Don’t burn yourself up for some dollars. Or dirhams. Or some other currency for that matter.

    Best wishes for 2009. (After 13 hours)

    DutchA

    December 31, 2008 at 6:01 am

  10. Glad (same as everyone else) to hear that you’re alright KG. So now all we have to do is fix the economy and we get regular updates again. Shouldn’t be too difficult …

    manigen

    December 31, 2008 at 7:16 am

  11. Welcome back, KG! Even if it is only briefly, we are very relieved to know you are doing OK (relatively).

    Congratulations on the new MacBook. I’ve been thinking about one of those, too, but am pretty happy with my 24″ iMac (even if non-portable). I know, buy a MacBook, fix the economy …

    I haven’t touched the Quran since things have been outta control. I’ll pick it up eventually, but I feel like I have too much bullshit to deal with in my day-to-day right now. The good book was bringing me down, man. I needed a break.

    When I was reading the Quran, it was definitely bringing me down, too. I wonder how many other people it depresses?

    Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

    Michael

    December 31, 2008 at 9:29 am

  12. KG:
    I am relieved you were not honor killed or eaten by a sasquatch. I fully understand the workload problem, and when you get right down to it, blogging should be way down the priority list in your life. Still, I’ll be patiently awaiting your return. Peace to you, and please get some rest – ok?

    a4atheist

    December 31, 2008 at 9:30 am

  13. KG, you’re not a jerk. Like everybody else, I’m glad to hear that you are (under the circumstances) OK. Also, my best wishes for 2009, especially that you’ll soon be able to go on with blogging! And of course best wishes to all the readers of this blog!

    Karin

    December 31, 2008 at 10:28 am

  14. Eep! Sounds like a hectic holiday season in the Kafir workplace!!! Glad you’re surviving and vacationing. :) We’ll still be here when you come up blogging again!

    The Perky Skeptic

    December 31, 2008 at 1:50 pm

  15. From one Mac user to another, ‘happy’ new year! Hope to hear more from you in the coming year. All the best.

    To everyone, I recently came across a convert to Judaism, on youtube, talking about Bell’s Theorem as ‘evidence’ of His existence. Can someone tell me what’s that about? (Oh, and for those who don’t know, I am an atheist, and not someone trying to wind you up with this question). Thanks.

    Happy New Year!

    Muhamad

    December 31, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  16. Peace be upon the mac-user group (and the other poor fuckers too). Happy 2009 to all.

    Rahul

    December 31, 2008 at 10:36 pm

  17. The good book was bringing me down, man. I needed a break. …
    When I was reading the Quran, it was definitely bringing me down, too. I wonder how many other people it depresses?

    It’s a relief to see that KG is alright. Now that we know not to worry, I think it’ll be good in the long run. With KG halfway through it, it seemed to be taking its toll and I think after a stretch away from it she’ll be back in good form when she resumes.

    Constant ingestion of the Koran is enough to make a person suicidal. I’ve only done about a third and I’m finding it hard to stay motivated. Really is depressing.

    uzza

    January 1, 2009 at 3:39 am

  18. KG – I don’t remember sadistic bosses or the IRS being mentioned as tortures in Hell . . .

    Seriously, glad to hear that you are alive, and no tragedies. I hope that 2009 brings better things. (You guys could always try our solution for a better year: new puppy!:)

    Take care of yourself and K-Boy. We’ll be here.

    Robin

    January 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm

  19. I can’t fix the economy but I can offer a damn find read!

    I thought you might appreciate looking at this book when it comes out in April. You don’t have to buy it…. it will be in all good libraries.

    http://brucemhood.wordpress.com/about-supersense/

    No matter whether you are a believer or a skeptic, it has something really important to say from the world of child development about the origins of adult belief.

    Best

    Bruce

    brucehood

    January 4, 2009 at 7:02 am

  20. Whoo! Thanks for getting to work on that economy thing, yous guys. I was getting worried for a minute.

    Sadly enough, I officially have to go back to work tomorrow. I did take the time off to go celebrate new year’s eve by getting massively tanked at a couple of bars. The hangover was horrible, but I ended up meeting a supercool atheist girl. We bonded over our atheism-themed tattoos…and alcohol, of course. Heartwarming!

    I’m packing the Quran in my purse for tomorrow’s commute to work. If I’m feeling up to it (aka not super fucking depressed), I’ll crack that shit open and get back to reading.

    Thanks for being so supportive. You guys rock x 10.

    kafirgirl

    January 4, 2009 at 12:03 pm

  21. Just glad you’re ok. Life kicks us all in the ass at some point, and that’s fine – we were just worried. Keep rockin!!

    Priest

    January 4, 2009 at 8:06 pm

  22. Hey, you can always assign me a chapter. I will do my very best to be funny while being amazed and horrified. ;)

    Robin

    January 4, 2009 at 10:35 pm

  23. I’m packing the Quran in my purse for tomorrow’s commute to work.

    If you are reading the Quran on the bus/train and start shouting “Allah Akhbar!” a few times, you might just get a “vacation” …

    Good luck with that! :-)

    Michael

    January 4, 2009 at 11:29 pm

  24. Michael, you’d be surprised at how often that happens on public transportation. Only, you know, with a Bible and a “Praise Jesus!” Still just as lame.

    kafirgirl

    January 5, 2009 at 12:05 am

  25. P.S. In case anyone’s thinking about getting a new MacBook…do. It’s fanfuckingtastic. The glossy screen is so tits.

    kafirgirl

    January 5, 2009 at 12:06 am

  26. KG,

    The “vacation” that Michael is probably talking about is in Gitmo. All expense paid, Ocean view, Bars in every room and of course tight security.

    HolyDude

    January 5, 2009 at 12:46 am


Leave a Reply

