KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

I’m still alive.

with 60 comments

But barely.

Work has, again, become too insane for me to keep up with the Quran.  We’re talking 16 hours a day plus weekends.  I do see a light at the end of the tunnel:  I have a week off starting Tuesday.  Whoo.  Whooooo.  I would have put exclamation points at the end of those, but I’m too tired to be excited about anything right now.  I’m spending the week with my parents and I plan on doing nothin but blogging all week long.  You’ll have me back soon, babies.  I promise.  For now, it’s sleep time.

Written by kafirgirl

November 19, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Posted in Quran

60 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To be honest, I’m not too upset, since work has caused me to develop a big backlog of Stuff To Read, including your Quran fisking. This break has given me a chance to catch up without overdosing.

    arensb

    November 20, 2008 at 1:42 pm

  2. We just thought reading the Quran had gotten you down. I know it has that effect on me! :-)

    Good luck blogging at your parents house. Hope you get some rest!

    Michael

    November 20, 2008 at 3:51 pm

  3. May Allah have mercy on you! Verily I say that he is super-merciful.

    Psst… can you have Nissa blog for you instead?

    Rahul

    November 20, 2008 at 4:48 pm

  4. *hugs* Have a great rest! :)

    The Perky Skeptic

    November 20, 2008 at 9:38 pm

  5. i had the same sentiments as michael :-D
    have a good rest, i think you deserve a break :-)

    Yoke

    November 21, 2008 at 2:27 am

  6. Life can be crazy, can’t it? Don’t worry, I’m sure none of us are going anywhere so you can take a break.

    manigen

    November 21, 2008 at 4:08 am

  7. do you work in our office? we’ve been doing the same thing… 16 hrs + weekends.

    Shashi

    November 21, 2008 at 8:42 am

  8. You too, huh Shashi? It seems to be going around. I actually had to fight to get time off for my sister’s wedding.

    The good news is that I have a teeny sense of job security since my new client will be our biggest money-maker next year. The bad news is that we’re so understaffed in the creative department that we’re working double shifts. Ugh.

    More good news: I just found out that I have the last 2 weeks of December off. Paid. 16 solid days of no work = more blog-time than I know what to do with! Coming up: pictures of our Festivus bush* with homemade origami ornaments! Whoo! It’s all coming up if I can keep from jumping off a bridge or something for the next couple of weeks.

    How are yous guys doing??

    * KafirBoy was feeling really nostalgic for a Christmas tree this year, so we got a living bush that kind of looks like a midget Christmas tree.

    kafirgirl

    November 21, 2008 at 9:39 am

  9. I’m sure none of us are going anywhere

    What?!?!?! Hey, I’ve got things I could do. And places I could be. You know, something other than reading the Quran and rolling my eyes and wondering why Muhammad reminds me of a Mafia Don. The Sicilians had nothing on Muhammad.

    Michael

    November 21, 2008 at 10:06 am

  10. “Hey, I’ve got things I could do.”

    You say that, but you’re still here…
    ;-)

    manigen

    November 22, 2008 at 4:24 am

  11. KG, take it easy and take your time.

    ki

    November 23, 2008 at 5:30 pm

  12. watercat

    November 26, 2008 at 2:52 pm

  13. Mumbai Rocked by Deadly Terorist Strikes:
    80 Killed; numerous others injured; blasts in hotels, railway stations.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7751160.stm

    No official word yet on who these terrorists are. But anyone want to hazard a guess?

    Rahul

    November 26, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  14. Happy Thanksgiving, everybuddy.
    Ai haz wrote a non-prayer for it.

    watercat

    November 27, 2008 at 1:48 pm

  15. I hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving, even if you don’t celebrate the holiday. I especially hope KG is doing OK as she has been uncharacteristically silent for a number of days. I know what it is like to be overworked as I’m currently under a similar strain.

    a4atheist

    November 28, 2008 at 11:13 pm

  16. Kafir Girl, please accept me aplogy for all me bad stuff cos i am a downclass and big mouth also and i am very very rong way also maybe and also i was just trying to do me best for the people of pakistan and don’t mean nothing bad also.
    Now me mum is staying with me in the country were i am staying and i will to pakistan in three weeks and i am ok now in me emotions and me mental health and stuff also so therefore i kindly ask if i can continue me posts on ure great site also.
    and please forgive me cos i was suffering from mental tension and stuff at that precisely time, but now i am ok, number 1 and fine in all ways.

    Miss J. (London and Karachi side)

    November 30, 2008 at 3:52 am

  17. sure would like views on Mumbai attacks! darn these islamic ass#$RLKAJER!

    2 scared to share my name

    November 30, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  18. I have to say that I miss you KG.

    Enrico

    December 4, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  19. Heeeellloooooo Kafirgirl? Just give us a sign….preferably a large deposit in my name in a Swiss Bank account.

    OK, that was a Woody Allen line.

    But seriously KG, I need a fix of glaringly obvious common sense, so please put fingers to keyboard!

    Kics

    December 4, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  20. Hang in there. We miss you.

    Robin

    December 5, 2008 at 6:39 pm

  21. KG – Hope you’re well – missing your missives for coming up on three weeks now. How ’bout just a quick “Still here!” to let us know you’re OK?

    kics

    December 8, 2008 at 7:55 am

  22. Rahul

    December 10, 2008 at 9:28 pm

  23. …waiting patiently…
    /lurk mode

    ZeBub

    December 11, 2008 at 7:41 pm

  24. KG: Please ping us an “I’m OK” or something. It’ll take less than a minute…honest!

    Michael

    December 11, 2008 at 8:20 pm

  25. Michael: I told you that you weren’t going anywhere. And neither have I.

    KG: You are okay, right?

    manigen

    December 12, 2008 at 8:34 am

  26. KG! We need a dose of your wisdom. Speak to us XD

    Nox

    December 14, 2008 at 2:33 am

  27. Rahul

    The BBC Islam Message board is there to promote Islam – not have a fair and open discussion on its merits and demerits. For instance, any links to kafirgirl’s wordpress blog are removed as they are deemed unsuitable. That is, reading this blog may cause one to think that the koran is in fact full of nonsense. In the inclusive-obsessed-all-cultures-are-equal world of the BBC that just wouldn’t do.

    Where are you KG?
    Anybody else got a sense of foreboding about KG’s absence? It’s now been four weeks. Her last post indicated she’d be posting within a week. It is odd that she hasn’t had the time to write a one or two word post. I can only think she is unable to get to an online computer. Still, let’s remain positive and hopeful for the moment. If she is indisposed in some way all we can do is think positively and wish her the best of luck in getting out of whatever fix she is in.

    kics

    December 16, 2008 at 8:49 am

  28. Hey Kics,

    Thanks for the note on BBC Islam. Will check it out.

    I have been nursing the same dark feeling about KG for sometime now. It is entirely possible that she’s unwell or snowed under at work. But I can’t seem to shake off that uneasy feeling…

    Rahul

    December 16, 2008 at 2:04 pm

  29. I too have an uneasy feeling about KG’s state. The only holiday wish I have is to know that she is safe, healthy and simply unable to access a computer. I wish somebody with real knowledge of her situation would post a comment. Where is KG’s KB?

    KG: I miss you more than you know.

    a4atheist

    December 16, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  30. RE: Where is KG’s KB?

    Indeed.

    Surely it must be the case that KB was aware of KG’s blog. KB, if you’re able, can you please leave a comment about the whereabouts of KG? I don’t know how closely KG played her cards to the chest. If there are any close friends of hers who knew about her blog can they please leave a comment. This request of course is also addressed at family members, who may have discovered that
    their daughter/sister/aunt/cousin was in fact writing a blog called Kafirgirl and were upset about her views on religion and Islam in particular – can you please leave a comment about KG’s whereabouts.

    Kics

    December 17, 2008 at 5:27 am

  31. Has anyone actually tried to email her? has anyone sent her en email? if anyone has tried to contact her, it would be nice if you could give us an up-date. I was not a big-fan of KG, but still I just want to know she’s not in an danger.

    Stat Quo

    December 17, 2008 at 8:56 am

  32. KG had done an interview with an online publication [Nontheist Nexus] some months ago . Last night, I wrote to the publication asking if they had her contact info and if they could use that to contact her and establish if she was OK. No response yet (maybe they also used kg@gmail). If/when they respond, I’ll post over here.

    It is entirely possible that although KB and other family members knew of her blog, they did not actually post anything here. So, their posts are withheld by WP awaiting SPAM clearance. Unless they knows KG’s WP password, they cannot clear such posts. So, an alternate mechanism is needed. I created an email acct called fans.of.kg AT Gmail dot com.

    KG/ KB / family members / friends / close associates: If any of you have any update about KG’s wellbeing PLEASE SEND AN EMAIL TO THIS ADDRESS.

    Rahul

    December 18, 2008 at 1:47 pm

  33. @ Rahul

    Good points, I wasn’t aware all new posters had to be cleared. So it may be the case that people have posted! Well, I hope your investigation with Nontheist Nexus are fruitful. Fingers/arms/legs and toes are crossed.

    kics

    December 18, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  34. Rahul, thank you for doing something! I’m worried, too.

    Karin

    December 19, 2008 at 9:03 am

  35. Rahul:
    I agree this entire ordeal is smelling worse by the day. It is excruciatingly frustrating not knowing where to turn to get information on KG’s whereabouts. It makes my blood boil to think of something awful related to her opinions. If she were simply indisposed due to illness, that would be different – not not knowing one way or t’other is damn annoying.

    The article you mention was interesting, but most of these points were made by Sam Harris in his book The End of Faith, which he started writing the day after 9/11/01. Still, can’t hurt to read ’em elsewhere.

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE … someone provide news of KafirGirl’s status. It’s killing me by degrees.

    a4atheist

    December 19, 2008 at 6:29 pm

  36. For KG’s fans:
    I’ve sent off an inquiry to WordPress to see if they can review any pending (unapproved) messages in her blog that might indicate her status. I’m sure they won’t automagically approve anything, but I expressed our concern on her status and simply asked that someone at WP review the messages for anything that might give a clue. I’m crossing my fingers.

    a4atheist

    December 19, 2008 at 6:49 pm

  37. Thanks A4, I also contacted Steve Wells of SkepticsAnnotatedBible for any leads. He was one of the earliest commenters on KG’s blog and I figured he might have known her (and thus knew of her blog) and hence visited it. But it turns out that Wells does not know her personally. Bottom line: No news yet about KG.

    Rahul

    December 20, 2008 at 12:11 am

  38. Hello, I’m a friend of KafirGirl’s and I just wanted to ease everyone’s fears and let you know that she is alive and well. Although I haven’t actually had any direct contact with her recently, I did receive a card in the mail from her and KafirBoy this week.

    I’m sorry that I don’t have any information regarding her leave of absence. I can, however, assure you that she will be back and blogging at some point. I will let her know of everyone’s concern and hopefully have more information for you soon.

    xroblcx

    December 20, 2008 at 4:40 am

  39. xroblcx:
    Thank you for the feedback. We all anxiously await her return to the blogosphere.

    a4atheist

    December 20, 2008 at 11:45 am

  40. xroblcx, thank you. I am really relieved to hear that.

    Karin

    December 20, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  41. Cant wait to read her blog again!!!

    Ayesha

    December 20, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  42. good to know that xroblcx…i was getting worried too. i just brushed it off as having too much work in the office to have spare time to blog but as it dragged on for weeks it was getting uneasy. it’s not like KG to not blog for so long.

    anyhoos, i’m glad to hear she’s ok.

    Yoke

    December 22, 2008 at 2:10 am

  43. Xroblcx, thanks for the update. Not to be negative – but I’d feel better if a 1-line post were to appear from KG.

    Rahul

    December 22, 2008 at 2:37 am

  44. Hello xroblcx,

    Thanks very much for leaving a comment.

    Did KG mention in her card to you why she hasn’t blogged as in recent weeks it has been a fairly major part of her pastime? Also, you mention you’ll let her know of our concern, which is very kind, but what did she say that makes you think that she isn’t able to read the comments here herself?

    Regards

    kics

    December 22, 2008 at 5:50 am

  45. She’s been extremely busy with work. She feels bad about not having any time for the blog and was relieved to find out that you guys don’t think she’s a jerk. She didn’t say when exactly she’ll be back, but it’ll be soon.

    kics – I know that she hasn’t been able to read your comments because if she had, she would’ve left a comment herself.

    xroblcx

    December 22, 2008 at 1:35 pm

  46. Hello xroblcx

    Re: I know that she hasn’t been able to read your comments because if she had, she would’ve left a comment herself.

    I hope you can understand, my point is, that it would be so remarkably easy and effortless for her to read this blog. Our question is, what on earth is her state if she is unable to read a web page?

    And even though you have now made her aware of our concern it seems that she still hasn’t acknowledged that and left even the smallest two-word message like “I’m OK”. That would take no more than one minute…one minute. It seems implausible that she wouldn’t be able to spare one minute over a four week period? Even Barack Obama isn’t that busy. I’m sure you can understand that this sort of behaviour, given the nature of her responses previously posted here, seems very disconcerting.

    kics

    December 23, 2008 at 5:41 am

  47. KG:
    if you can read this, all we want is “I’m OK” and then we’ll stop pestering. If you don’t want to complete blogging the Koran that’s your right of course. Just let us know you’re OK.

    kics

    December 23, 2008 at 5:42 am

  48. Just ading my two cents: No one thinks you are a jerk, we are just worried for your health and safety. It’s one of the worst things about the inernet community, it’s very hard to just check up on our neighbors to make sure that everything is ok.

    Robin

    December 23, 2008 at 10:39 am

  49. My concern over KG has grown over the weeks, and I can’t really say its been alleviated. Busy at work? Perhaps. Many people at work have a PC. Does she go home from work? I can’t believe she doesn’t go on her PC to check her own personal email. Checking the blog and making a post might take one minute. How may of us would go one month without checking our email?

    How do we know xroblcx isn’t just some random guy posting in the context of this thread? Sorry, but something doesn’t smell right. Especially after KG in her last post said she would definiately be posting.

    Her last words over a month ago were:
    “I’m spending the week with my parents and I plan on doing nothin but blogging all week long. You’ll have me back soon, babies. I promise.”

    JohnM

    December 23, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  50. Could it be possible that KG has had a change of heart and that she is now fully seized of the majesty of Islam and Allah?

    Me neither.

    I have no reason to doubt the sincerity of XROBLCX but it is un-characteristic of KG as we know her. And given Islamists’ track-record as the practitioners of the religion of peace…. One only hopes that she has not come to any harm (intentional or otherwise).

    Speaking of the religion-of-peace … here’s an old article that I just discovered about Ayan Hirsi Ali’s disdain for Islam and multi-culturalism that gives it shelter.
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/2005/may/17/religion.immigration

    Rahul

    December 24, 2008 at 3:02 am

  51. No news from Nontheist nexus then. In a way I’m happy that it is so difficult to find one’s identity. I think that is the primary reason why KG felt she could produce a blog such as kafirgirl.

    Very sadly I have come to the conclusion that she has been incapacitated in some way. I feel this because making a comment on this page is so very easy and would take so little time, and she seemed to really enjoy producing this site. KG would know that we don’t think of her as a ‘jerk’. That sounds so odd.

    I hope the thugs haven’t won this battle.

    kics

    December 24, 2008 at 10:49 am

  52. Well, I tried. Continue to think the worst if you wish.

    xroblcx

    December 24, 2008 at 1:13 pm

  53. Oh you guys. I’m sure she’s fine, just very busy with her real life. I certainly hope this blog is not KG’s top priority, and look forward to whenever she’s free enough to work on it again.

    crystal

    December 24, 2008 at 6:07 pm

  54. Hello xroblcx

    Re: “Well, I tried. Continue to think the worst if you wish”

    That’s a little glib don’t you think?

    I hope you can understand why we would think the worst. As I said, it doesn’t make sense that a) you say she’s OK and fine, but b) you say she is unable to read this web site. One contradicts the other. If she were indeed fine, she’d be able to read the website. I think you can understand how that contradiction makes us feel uneasy, that’s all. Your comment implies that the conclusion I draw given the facts seems unwarranted. Why do you think it is unreasonable to conclude that something is out of order?

    If you said that she has been able to read the website but nevertheless has simply chosen to have an extended absence from posting that would have been more plausible. Again, what’s eerie is that you say she’s been unable to read the website. As she might say…WTF?

    Anyways, if there aren’t any answers then there’s not a lot we can do apart from live with the anxiety. I too hope that the blog isn’t her top priority, but it was no doubt a project she felt driven to produce.

    I sure hope KG has just decided not to look at this website simply because that’s what she has decided – not because she’s been *unable* to do so.

    kics

    December 24, 2008 at 9:23 pm

  55. so, was she honorwhatever? Iz hopes not!

    fasfa

    December 25, 2008 at 1:58 am

  56. Happy Holidays to all, and especially to KafirGirl, wherever you are.

    a4atheist

    December 25, 2008 at 2:08 am

  57. Well, i still hope she’s ok.
    i sent her a message once applauding her anonymity because although i disapprove of it, i felt she did it for the right reasons, more so to protect those around her than herself. Let’s hope there’s no negatives behind this hiatus.

    Priest

    December 28, 2008 at 3:50 am

  58. I came across this and thought you folks would like it.

    http://www.prophet-muhammad.biz/muslimguide.html

    Happy New Year to all. Have a Blast – but not in an Islamic sense.

    Rahul

    December 30, 2008 at 1:52 pm

  59. Thanks, that was a good link, Rahul.

    GAD

    December 30, 2008 at 4:16 pm

  60. Eeps. Dude, I’m totally a-OK. I’m a jerk for not checking in every few days and stuff, but things got a little out of hand at work. Spending-the-night-and-wearing-the-same-clothes-the-next-day kind of crazy. I didn’t have time to get online, let alone blog. I suck.

    Sorry for making everyone worry. I’ll be back to the blogging soon. For now, it’s all work, no play.

    kafirgirl

    December 30, 2008 at 6:12 pm


Leave a Reply

