KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Finally.

with 19 comments

I had a hard time sleeping last night, both from excitement and nervousness.

KafirBoy and I got up at 5am so we can be at the polls at 6 when they open.  We live in a black / Latino / hipster / passionate liberal part of town, and it’s pretty notorious for long lines due to high voter turnout.  I can’t even imagine what it’ll be like this year.  So we’re getting our civic duty out of the way early on.  And yes, even though Starbucks coffee tastes like charred feet, I’ll be there getting my free cup after I vote.  I fucking deserve it for getting up at the buttcrack of dawn.

Yesterday I saw some pictures of a 106 year old black woman waiting in line to vote for Obama.  She was dressed to the nines — hat, gloves and all.  It damn near made me cry, and I am not the boo hoo type.  This election has really taken it out of me, and I am so ready to get it over with.

Eeps.

Anyway, if you’re in the States and you’re old enough to vote, do it.  You know you want to, even if it’s just for the free coffee.

New post coming up sometime soon.  I’ve had a hard time focusing on it what with the news and the blogs and the polls.  …and chapter 13 kinda sucking it hardcore.

Written by kafirgirl

November 4, 2008 at 6:34 am

Posted in Quran

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. GOOOO OBAMAAAAAAAA!!!!! Rooting for you in Spain!!!!!!!

    brg

    November 4, 2008 at 9:10 am

  2. Well, after doing my civic duty as a non-US Citizen (and writing the firts comment on this post ;-), I want just to mention something on my mind since I saw in the Atheist Media Blog regarding some fantic saying that Bayer obtained some cure for AIDS based on a Hadith:

    How come that all of these truths supposedly included in the Qu’ran and Hadith (i.e.: roundness of earth, IDS cures and whatnot) have been “confirmed” (i.e.: discovered) by non-Muslims???? Why is it that Muslims, who are supposed to know these writings by heart and be close friends with the author and his ghost writer, do not understand them for what they are, and it is the infidels who get to do the steps needed not only to discover them, but to make them available and useful? I have asked a similar question before: what have the oil-rich Muslim countries done to advance science, arts and humanitarian causes?

    Brg

    brg

    November 4, 2008 at 9:17 am

  3. BRG, yeah, I totally don’t get that one. How — if all of this is in the Quran / hadith — people didn’t figure it all out waaaaay before. It’s only AFTER the cure is discovered that someone looks through the texts and figures out it was in there all along. If it’s fucking in there, why do we have to work so hard? I mean, seriously?

    (P.S. Huzzah Obama!)

    kafirgirl

    November 4, 2008 at 9:43 am

  4. “buttcrack of dawn.” Ha! I’m so using that.

    scaryreasoner

    November 4, 2008 at 10:04 am

  5. Obama will win this election. Redskins lost their pre-election game. That’s one omen which has never been wrong.. yet. In a few hours…

    Shashi

    November 4, 2008 at 10:58 am

  6. @kg

    I got up at 5am, too! High-five! I need a nap now, though. (Hope you got my e-mail of the Handsome Goat, too.)

    @brg

    The Quran doesn’t say the Earth is round (in fact, it says the Earth is laid out like a carpet — aka, flat). The Quran and Hadith contain many incorrect scientific “facts” and, in the rare cases where it gets one right (or can even be slightly mangled to be somewhat plausible), well, that is just the law of averages. Make up enough shit and some of it might work out.

    As for “What have the oil-rich Muslim countries done to advance science, arts and humanitarian causes?” Well, the answer is very little. There are a few exceptions, of course. Most of the time, though, the contributions came from new Muslims (especially when the Jihads moved across Arabia, Asia, Africa) and the newly converted Muslims still had the vestiges of pre-Islamic society to inspire them. After a society becomes fully Islamized (Saudi Arabia), very little is actually produced. When you put all your trust/faith/belief in Allah, why should you have to think for yourself?

    Peace.

    Michael

    November 4, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  7. KG:
    I know what you mean about getting up early. I normally get up at 4:30am (I have a long commute, and like to leave work early), so I was at my local polling place before the pollsters (is that what their called?) arrived. It was kinda of cool though, because it is somewhat rural, it was really dark and the sky was quite clear. A bit of star gazing was just the ticket for relaxing before the polls opened. And the best part of my day [night!] dreaming was the thought of right-wing idiots like James Dobson, Rush Limbaugh and their ilk banging their empty heads against the wall. Go Obama!

    a4atheist

    November 4, 2008 at 3:05 pm

  8. … and I had a laugh on the way into work after voting. I work in Madison WI, and there was this asshole on a pedestrian walkway across the Madison beltline highway, walking back and forth with a HUGE (8-10′ at least) Jeebux cross, on wheels, with a sign that said ‘Vote God’. I guess God couldn’t get enough signatures to get on the ballot in my home state (IL).

    a4atheist

    November 4, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  9. WHAT NONSENSE! The earth is flat! And the moon is half the size of the sun! Here is proof from a certified Koranic Scientist:

    And yes we have a cure for AIDS too.

    Praise be to Allah!

    Rahul

    November 4, 2008 at 3:55 pm

  10. Michael, I did get it. She was HOT. I would have replied, only I’m a lazy bastard.

    a4atheist, I may or may not have gone to UW Madison. Ahem. ON WISCONSIN! You know, there’s a lot that’s funny about the guy with the Vote God cross, but the part that had me in stitches was the fact that his cross was on wheels. Like he really planned that shit out.

    I’m sipping on my free Starbucks coffee (didn’t get a chance to grab it till just now), and oh em eff gee, I am so nervous. Indiana, don’t fail me, damnit. I have a stockpile of Tums, Pepto and Kleenex*, and I’m so ready to get this over with.

    * The Kleenex I’ll need regardless of the outcome. Know what I mean?

    kafirgirl

    November 4, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  11. “Indiana, don’t fail me, damnit.”

    Don’t bet on Indiana (my state) going blue. Early on in the election I was almost certain I’ll vote for write-in green candidate, but changed my mind when the state came into play for Obama. I cast my ballot this morning and noticed I was the only person below 40 there and there were no long lines, which is bad news for Obama.

    As soon as I got home, I got a call from the republican party reminding me to vote for Mccain and few hours later I got another call from the republicans.

    I hope I’m wrong, but I did my part and now sitting nervously in front of the TV.

    I really need to move out of this place.

    Ned

    November 4, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  12. dont get me wrong.. but Jan 20 is waaaaaay away. hopefully nothing happens before that. you know what i mean.

    Shashi

    November 4, 2008 at 6:58 pm

  13. I voted earlier in October, so I was fortunate enough to beat the rush. But I live in Ohio and I really hope my state is not going to make the same ass of itself that it did in 2004.

    If McCain “wins” today, I am seriously looking at moving. I’m thinking Vancouver.

    DemonHype

    November 4, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  14. Ned, don’t make me cry, dude. Ugh. Heart burn. Shashi, you too.

    DemonHype, I have high hopes for Ohio and Florida this time around. *Fingers crossed*

    Seriously, can we just end it already? I can’t stop refreshing all those news site electoral vote widgets, and it’s giving me serious anxiety. My old man and I are going to our fave hole-in-the-wall Mexican restaurant just to get away from the computer for an hour. I’mma be up late tonight — I just know it.

    kafirgirl

    November 4, 2008 at 8:46 pm

  15. Me, i like getting up at the crack of noon

    Sean the Blogonaut

    November 4, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  16. I was wrong about Indiana and happy to be so. I’m glad my vote for Obama helped. I guess I will put my move out of Indiana on hold for now :)

    Ned

    November 5, 2008 at 1:27 pm

  17. @Rahul

    Don’t forget that the Sun and Moon orbit the Earth in fixed paths, too! Allah was a savant!

    Michael

    November 5, 2008 at 1:36 pm

  18. You were right! I was hoping too, but I kind of live in a somewhat redneck area. Very easy to get downcast in that kind of environment.

    I couldn’t even enjoy it last night. Got a nerous headache as the evening progressed that turned into a full-fledged migraine within the relief I felt at the win.

    Man, for once I’m proud of Ohio!

    DemonHype

    November 5, 2008 at 4:22 pm

  19. YAY, OBAMA!

    Iblis

    November 5, 2008 at 4:35 pm


Leave a Reply

