KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Just an update this time.

with 10 comments

I realized today that I totally skipped over last Friday’s LOLmuslim / update thingy.  And I also have to skip over today’s.  Doh!  I’m sorry.  I suck.  There’s been a lot going on in my life and, honestly, it hasn’t all been good.

Get this shit.  My awesome boss got laid off for totally cold, political reasons, and my “new” boss is the one guy I can’t stand working under.  He’s kind of a total jerkoff.  You like how I threw in that “kind of” to soften that up a little?  It did nothing.  It’s useless.  Just like my new boss.  He’s one of those manic depressive types, and he totally gets off on stress, pressure and working weekends.  So yeah.  Things have been kind of scary at work.

And there’s this other thing, too.  I kept this under tight wraps: I’m leaving tomorrow to spend a week in Pakistan.  I have family obligations.  Boo!  Hiss!  It’s not all bad, though.  I’m looking forward to the following, in no particular order:

  1. The food.  Oh em gee, the food.
  2. Duty free (liquor!) shopping.  On the way back, of course.  I shudder to think what kind of bribes I’d have to hand out to get a bottle of rum into Muslimland.
  3. Missing KafirBoy, KafirDog and KafirCat, and having them miss me.  Especially that KafirBoy* character.  I don’t know what he’ll do for 7 days without my shenanigans.  I’ll have to double up in the week after I get back to make up for it.
  4. Not following the news and polls obsessively for that last week before the election.  The last thing I need is a week-long panic attack leading up to the big day.  I have no doubt in my mind that Obama is going to absolutely trounce McCain and Old Whatzzernameagain?** but it’ll be nice to have a forced break from the papers and blogs.  Lets my blood cool down, ya know?And, this last one is what I’m most looking forward to while I’m gone:
  5. Blogathon on the 19 hour flight.  Whoo!  That is, if my battery lasts or there’s a charger at my seat.

I’ll be back before the sun comes up on Saturday the 1st, and there will be a massive uploading of multiple posts.  Huzzah!

One last thing before I go pack my stuff.  I wanted to give a quick shout out to the lastest Muslim apostate to leave a comment.  Godissantaforadults is another Pakistani ex-Muslim girl (high five!), and I hope she’ll comment with her own experiences and deconversion story.  Every time I get an email or comment from an ex-Muslim, it warms my little heart.  Keep ’em coming!


* He’s pretty much the most awesome person ever.  He made a ginormous bag of homemade beef jerky for my flights, because he knows how much I hate plane food.  And he did my laundry.  And he made me an extra cup of coffee today.  And he cooked the most delicious pork loin last night.

** I can’t wait till she goes back up there to A-lass-kuh and we can all go back to not knowing who the fuck she is.

Written by kafirgirl

October 24, 2008 at 8:45 am

Posted in Quran

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey there. I recently started following your blog and about a week ago I managed to catch up on it completely, so I thought it’s time I drop you a line to say thank you for an excellent blog! As I’ve always pretty much been an atheist I find it incredibly interesting to read deconversion stories and about how “ex-religious” people view their old religion.

    Have a nice time in Pakistan! :)

    Felicia Gilljam

    October 24, 2008 at 9:35 am

  2. Enjoy your trip. Please have some biryani for me. And a few pakoras. And maybe some aloo gobi too. Now I’m hungry.

    Happy To Be Gone

    October 24, 2008 at 9:47 am

  3. I thought Kafir Dog died.. got a new one?

    Another Kafir

    October 24, 2008 at 11:34 am

  4. Hey Felicia, glad you’re enjoying it so far. There will be plenty more to read when I get back!

    Happy To Be Gone, mmmmmm biryani. I’m so looking forward to REAL Pakistani food. The restaurant stuff does nothing for me.

    AK, there were two KafirDogs. LittleKafirDog and BigKafirDog. Now there’s just the one. *Le sigh*

    kafirgirl

    October 24, 2008 at 11:41 am

  5. I lurves me some pork loin, mm hmmmm. I wish a mopey heart followed by a speedy return to Kafirboy.

    Kazim

    October 24, 2008 at 11:41 am

  6. hey dude, if u r going to Lahore….u have to go to Liberty market and have gool gappay! although, those r assured to give to an upset stomach! i can’t resist them though!! :)

    PS: I actually replied on the opening chapter as well!

    godissantaforadults

    October 24, 2008 at 12:48 pm

  7. Bon voyage! Safe journey, and hope to ‘see’ you soon.

    Oh, the food, got me salivating. :-) Biryani is best.

    Muhamad

    October 24, 2008 at 12:59 pm

  8. Hey Kafir girl.. a piece of advice, dont drink the water! No joke.. i came back from my trip looking like a skeleton.. but ya, have a great time, there’s nothing like Pakistani shopping :)

    randomness

    October 24, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  9. WHAT!!! A whole week with out a KG fix ??? I’m going to find me an embassy to bomb !!!

    Can you at least invite Nissa to fill in the void and enlighten (and enliven) us about how MO got JO back??

    Well anyway… have a safe flight and I wish we could have a real Pakistani Biryani together some time. Inshallah! :)

    Rahul

    October 24, 2008 at 2:51 pm

  10. Rahul; No bombing, please; go on over to Uzza’s blog.

    watercat

    October 25, 2008 at 1:47 am


Leave a Reply

