KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

A double dose of LOLmuslim!

with 32 comments

Digg del.icio.us StumbleUpon Reddit I totally blew off last week’s LOLmuslim.  I’m a jerk, but I have a good excuse.  I’ve been working 12 hour days for the past 2 weeks.  Big project, important client, deadline, etc.  You know the drill.  There hasn’t been much time for anything but sleep, but I still managed to get a couple of posts up.  I’d pat myself on the back, but I’m too fucking tired.  I’d get KafirBoy to do it for me, but I haven’t seen him for more than 5 seconds at a time for a few days.  He’s working crazy hours, too.  Yay!

Anyway, I’m making it up to you by having 2 LOLmuslims this week.  Enjoy:

I would apologize for getting that song stuck in your head, but I’m not sorry.  I’m not sorry at all. Muahaha!

Here’s what’s been going on with me lately:

  • I got banned from the BBC religion message boards.  Or rather, mention of this blog has been banned.  I’ve never actually posted there myself.  A reader was fighting the good fight and posting links to this site in his messages.  And BBC moderators started censoring those messages.  I’m a cuss word over at BBC yet, for some reason, they allow Islamotards to spew stupidity like this and get away with it: The secularists and thier allies have closed their minds firmly shut on accepting the truth. We should not waste our time with them. Instead we should focus on our own people we should work around our differences, unite against our enemies, strengthen our relationships and increase our population with high quality muslims.

    We should advise all girls who cant make it into Medicine, teaching, pharmacy or dentistry or islami studies, to marry straight after A levels and aim to have aleast 7 children inshallah.

    Who cares if women gets offended?  But a Muslim?  OMFG, we can’t let a Muslim’s feelings get hurt! Well played, BBC moderators, you asshats.

  • I finally got the atheism / freethought tattoo I’ve been talking about for a while now.  In fact, I got two of em.   Right now they’re peeling and itchy and gross, but bloody hell, they’ll look marvelous once they’ve healed.  Big thanks to Mark for letting me modify and personalize his lovely design.
  • The closet door is wide open and people are coming on out.  I’ve mentioned his in comments, but a couple of my cousins have recently come out as agnostics.  So has my baby brother.  Plus one co-worker just told me he’s an atheist, and another admitted he’s an agnostic.  And a third co-worker — a not-very-devout Catholic — printed and handed out copies of Sam Harris’ recent Newsweek article to some of the known Palin-haters at work.  The number of non-believers in my life grows bigger by the day.  And for that, I am grateful (to nothing in particular).
  • The election coverage is no longer giving me severe anxiety.  It’s been kind of great watching McPain stumble around with their thumbs up their asses this past week.  I finally got around to watching Palin’s Katie Courin interview and I almost felt bad for her — Katie Couric, not Palin.  I dunno how she sat through some of those answers without going, “What the fuck??  Are you serious?!”

Back to work.  I’ll probably be there all weekend as well, but I plan on taking a 5 day weekend next week to make up for it.  Whoo!  Have a kickass Friday & I’ll see you soon.

Written by kafirgirl

September 26, 2008 at 8:30 am

Posted in Friday

Tagged with

32 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The BBC message boards are a hive of knuckle dragging bigots, and the moderators actually seem to like it that way. This has been demonstrated again and again and again.

    manigen

    September 26, 2008 at 8:51 am

  2. That first picture is awsum… really, what’s the point in posing for a picture of you when all you can see is a bunch of piles of cloth?

    Fast forward a couple decades, and this is what happens (sorry for the lack of appropriate muslim names):

    “…and this is me, your aunt Margot, your first cousin Ellie, your Grandma and your other aunt Susie during our trip to Burlapsackistan. Wait, is it Margot, Susie, me, Grandma and Ellie? Or Ellie, me, Susie, Margot and Grandma? Darn it, were we actually in this picture at all? I can’t tell.”

    Mauro

    September 26, 2008 at 11:17 am

  3. Can some one please explain the difference between agnostism and atheism? Wiki is too confusing, agnostism there seems to be similar to one of the types of atheism and the tone is too academic and geeky.

    Another Kafir

    September 26, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  4. Can some one please explain the difference between agnostism and atheism?

    Fence sitting and decision making……

    GAD

    September 26, 2008 at 2:00 pm

  5. AK; try this

    watercat

    September 26, 2008 at 3:06 pm

  6. “Fence sitting and decision making……”

    HA!

    geniusofevil

    September 26, 2008 at 3:26 pm

  7. For those of you wandering over to my blog to see the images that Kafirgirl is talking about, I’ve posted the images here.

    And no, they’re just the images – they are not the actual tattoos!

    Calladus

    September 26, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  8. For extra lulz, look at that second picture the way I did: Read the caption. Then look at the guy on the right… then the guy on the left… then the guy in the middle. O.o

    Chicken Girl

    September 26, 2008 at 8:20 pm

  9. With that song in my head, and the image of the guy in the middle, I can’t help but think of Mola Ram from Temple of Doom. Monkey Brains anyone?

    Ken L. Hagler

    September 26, 2008 at 9:40 pm

  10. Great choice on design! Diggin the thinking daisies.

    Priest

    September 26, 2008 at 10:34 pm

  11. Aggys are not fence sitting. They can be atheistic about the Gods of scripture, but unknowing of what caused bigbang. I count myself agnostic but i’m not hedging my bets on Allah Yahweh or Kim il Sung

    sweetpityfulmercy

    September 26, 2008 at 11:55 pm

  12. Remember to post pictures when they heal!!!

    Briggs

    September 27, 2008 at 12:15 am

  13. HEY! You’ve covered 27% of the book; over a quarter.
    HIGH FIVE!

    Uzza

    September 27, 2008 at 12:32 am

  14. Manigen, that link is fantastic. Thanks, dude.

    Calladus, I emailed you a photo. High five!

    Chicken Girl, that’s exactly how I planned that sucker off. Ha! Hilarious!

    Briggs, mayyyybe. I’m playing this one by ear.

    Uzza, I’m almost 1/3 of the way through? Whoo!!

    kafirgirl

    September 27, 2008 at 12:55 am

  15. If anyone is wondering why me internet play is reduced, i got one answer, it’s eid and i am stuck in the kitchen making sweets!
    Guys i might be off line for a few days over the Eid al Fitr period, it’s ok, no one’s got me and chopped me head off or nothing, just not in a position to lock meself in me room and sit eid out either.
    i’m ok, just practicing me very rusty sweet making skills with me aunt, we’re expecting up to 100 very devout Muslims for eid, anyhow, that’s life.

    jasminefrompakistan

    September 27, 2008 at 8:48 am

  16. Seeing these photoz above, I realised one thing. Only Islam can invoke feelings of despair, despondency and hatred at the same time in a group of people.

    KK

    September 27, 2008 at 11:10 am

  17. Kafirgirl: Don’t mention it.

    KK: Oh, I don’t know. I think lots of religions can do that, when they’re extreme enough.

    manigen

    September 27, 2008 at 12:55 pm

  18. Aggys are not fence sitting.

    Prove it! Make a decision: Is there a god or not? Whats it going to be boy, yes or no, baby baby let me sleep on it is fence sitting.

    Taking no position there is 100% probability that you are wrong, taking either position gives you a 50% of being right.

    PS, no one knows what caused the Big Bang that doesn’t make whole world agnostic anymore then babies are born atheist.

    GAD

    September 27, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  19. Personally, I’m an Ignostic, Agnostic Atheist. Since I can’t prove or disprove the existence of any God or gods – including the IPU – then asking which God or gods I should attempt to please is an extremely silly question, and is certainly not a position that I should base my life upon without some form of evidence.

    So I’ll live my life as an Atheist and base my actions on a positive secular philosophy, such as Positive Atheism and Secular Humanism.

    calladus

    September 27, 2008 at 1:56 pm

  20. Kafirgirl, as usual, this probably doesn’t get said often enough. Thanks for all the great posts, despite your busy life. Consider yourself officially patted on the back. :-)

    ki

    September 27, 2008 at 4:20 pm

  21. And for that, I am grateful (to nothing in particular).

    As Daniel Dennett suggested, instead of thanking god, you can try thanking goodness. Human goodness, that is.

    ki

    September 27, 2008 at 4:37 pm

  22. I can’t prove or disprove the existence of any God or gods – including the IPU

    You can prove that the FSM and IPU are the fictions of men which is more then sufficient cause to fully deny their existence. So, why is god a special case? Clearly the Bible and the Quran are the fictions of men, to then not rationally deny god one has to believe that there is “some” truth (gods) within them or that god may exist even through the Bible and Quran contain no truth of him. The first case is really fence sitting theism, the second is more or less the ontological argument.

    I really don’t understand the fear of atheist to deny god, even someone like Dawkins can’t bring himself to do it. We can know god doesn’t exist and surly as we can know anything, it is fear that that is faith or that we may be wrong that prevents us from doing so.

    GAD

    September 28, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  23. Before you can prove whether god exists, first you have to define him/her/them, that’s the kicker.

    My guess is that it would be easy to prove that [god as described in the koran] cannot exist.

    watercat

    September 28, 2008 at 5:27 pm

  24. Gad, as an Ignostic, I think it’s just a silly question. On the order of asking who is stronger, Superman, or the Hulk. Ultimately it’s a question that is only meaningful to those who read comics… er.. I mean Bibles.

    Perhaps some day someone will come up with some sort of proof that the question isn’t silly – or perhaps a deity will take me to task. But unless that happens, I’m not going to invest any time in wondering about or disbelieving a very silly and extremely unlikely concept.

    Personally, I think there’s a better chance that Superman and the Hulk will show up at my doorstep wearing white shirts, black ties, and nametags to tell me about the book of Mormon

    calladus

    September 28, 2008 at 9:09 pm

  25. Gad, as an Ignostic, I think it’s just a silly question. On the order of asking who is stronger, Superman, or the Hulk. Ultimately it’s a question that is only meaningful to those who read comics… er.. I mean Bibles.

    I think not. 50% + of the human race believes in the Abrahamic god, and 90% + of the other half believes in some other god or gods. Every aspect of the world we live in is affected by such beliefs to the extent that we both describe ourselves in relation to such beliefs, you going so far as to be the co-founder and president of the Central Valley Alliance of Atheists and Skeptics. Seems like a lot for a question so silly it doesn’t warrant being discussed.

    No worries, calladus. They say there are over 30,000 Christian sects, I would posit there are far more atheists sects (likely why getting us together is referenced to “herding cats”). I once naively thought most atheists believed as I did, I was rudely made aware that they didn’t. In any case I now find hearing and debating atheism (why people disbelieve) as interesting as anything else.

    GAD

    September 28, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  26. you going so far as to be the co-founder and president of the Central Valley Alliance of Atheists and Skeptics. Seems like a lot for a question so silly it doesn’t warrant being discussed.

    But that’s the whole point. The problem is that a whole bunch of people are making political decisions based upon what makes Hulk made or what Superman’s favorite color happens to be. And these crazy people automatically assume that anyone who is silent is in agreement with them.

    I consider their beliefs to be silly, and I really don’t care that they have an omnipotent omniscient invisible friend who just doesn’t feel like proving himself today, (but maybe he will tomorrow, don’cha know?) And I think arguing with them over the question is like wrestling a pig.

    But I can’t stand idle when their actions are based upon those beliefs, and they do things that are at best worrisome, and at worse unethical or even dangerous! That is why I’m the cofounder of an organization that speaks up for secular and rational people, and who urges those people to speak up for themselves too.

    Silence implies acquiescence.

    calladus

    September 29, 2008 at 12:19 am

  27. “makes Hulk mad” I should really proofread more. (tsk)

    calladus

    September 29, 2008 at 12:20 am

  28. But I can’t stand idle when their actions are based upon those beliefs, and they do things that are at best worrisome, and at worse unethical or even dangerous! That is why I’m the cofounder of an organization that speaks up for secular and rational people, and who urges those people to speak up for themselves too.

    I understand and agree completely with you on this.

    The part I’m not clear on is the mixing of terms. You say Ignostic, the question of god is so silly it can’t be discussed, Agnostic, you can’t prove or disprove the silly question, Atheist, you disbelieve or deny the god of the silly question, which is at the least redundant…….

    GAD

    September 29, 2008 at 11:17 am

  29. The question of deity can always be stated in such a way that it becomes inherently unprovable, either in the positive or negative. This makes it both a silly question, and one that technically everyone is weakly agnostic about.

    Unless and until someone is able to prove a deity, the logical and reasonable position to take is that of weak Atheism, which merely states a lack of belief in deity.

    In a nutshell, I do NOT believe in the lack of deity, I merely LACK a belief in deity. And until someone can give me a rational explanation, I think that discussing the question of deity is inherently silly. That doesn’t mean that I won’t argue the question – sometimes I just like to argue because it shows me flaws in my reasoning.

    I do believe that the reasonable way to conduct my life is based upon a secular philosophy such as Positive Atheism or Secular Humanism or something similar.

    Please note that this is of course my own opinion, and my lifestyle choice. Your mileage may vary.

    Calladus

    September 29, 2008 at 12:11 pm

  30. # For those of you wandering over to my blog to see the images that Kafirgirl is talking about, I’ve posted the images here.

    That looks like a perfect fit for a T-shirt.

    GAD

    September 29, 2008 at 12:54 pm

  31. “Weak agnosticism” is the hand waving semantics necessary for one to maintain their balance on the fence.

    “weak atheism” implies that children, the mentally challenged and people who have never heard of god are atheists. That’s convenient but I disagree with that view, atheism has to be strong or positive, the active denial god, not “lack of belief”, knowledge or understanding of him.

    As with you this is of course my own opinion.

    GAD

    September 29, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  32. Britain and Europe are kidding themselves. The extremists are using freedom of speech/religion to justify ignorance and hate. Same with Sharia courts. Legitimizing while undermining the rule of law. They are using these freedoms against a basically civil society

    madmonq

    October 6, 2008 at 6:04 am


Leave a Reply

