KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

LOLmuslim Friday No. 10

with 14 comments

Digg del.icio.us StumbleUpon Reddit

Props to Michael for finding that picture.

Good news:  we’re done with 33% of the book.  Not bad, huh?

I wanted to send a little shout out to all the ex-Muslims who shared their stories in the comments section of the past couple of posts.  It gives me the warm fuzzies to know that there are others out there, and that they find solace here.  I was originally planning on abandoning this sucker after I’m done with the Quran, but I think I’ll stick around instead.  It’s worth it.

I only have one link to share with you guys today.  It’s something my friend Rob found.  It’s definitely NSFW, but that doesn’t seem to stop a lot of you from reading this blog.  I laughed so hard I had tears running down my face.  Thanks, Rob!

If you have a link worth sharing, throw it up.  If you feel like sharing your own deconversion story or whatever, go for it.  Consider this an open thread.

Happy Friday!

Written by kafirgirl

September 12, 2008 at 8:59 am

Posted in Friday

Tagged with

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What is NSFW?

    Another Kafir

    September 12, 2008 at 11:43 am

  2. Not safe for work.

    kafirgirl

    September 12, 2008 at 12:09 pm

  3. Good thing I’m self-employed, NSFW doesn’t apply to me anymore hahahahahaha! :-P

    Mauro

    September 12, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  4. In this link we discover that, linguistically speaking, 54% of the koran has no semantic content.
    http://pages.citebite.com/m8g0k4a6uoql

    watercat

    September 12, 2008 at 2:44 pm

  5. Has anyone seen the getup that muslim female athletes wear for track and field? There were some at the Olympics and i honestly don’t remember seeing these garments for sport.

    Priest

    September 12, 2008 at 6:17 pm

  6. Watercat, awesome link, wonder what the stats for the whole of Quran would be. Although it is kinda sad that they would be removing the violent stuff from Quran when lolcatifying it. Thats the stuff you can make into a cool story. Like God is some psycopathological bastard throwing clubs at people. Anyway, however they deem it best, I haven’t the time anyway.

    Another Kafir

    September 12, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  7. KG: have you checked out today’s sinfest?
    http://www.sinfest.net/index.php

    watercat

    September 14, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  8. Watercat, I hadn’t seen it. It was fantastic — thanks for posting =)

    Honestly, after the interviews on ABC, I think it’ll be over come debate time. She are not smaht. My opinion. Doesn’t count for much, etc, but it gave me hope.

    kafirgirl

    September 14, 2008 at 2:35 pm

  9. Here’s another article on slavery.

    http://www.csmonitor.com/2008/0916/p01s01-usgn.html

    Priest

    September 15, 2008 at 10:49 pm

  10. “I was originally planning on abandoning this sucker after I’m done with the Quran…”

    Nooooo!!!!!

    “…but I think I’ll stick around instead.”

    Phew.

    I was born atheist, in an atheist family, and I grew up with plenty of other atheists around the place. The upshot of this is that I don’t really know what it’s like to have a faith and then leave it, but I can guess that it’s quite a scary experience for a lot of people. That being the case, I suspect that you, just by existing and continuing with this blog, can help those people. People who are scared of atheism, scared of what it would mean to give up on their faith, can read the posts here and find out that it isn’t so bad after all.

    Plus, dammit, I like this blog. I like it because it’s funny, caustic and insightful, and because it applies all these traits to areas of human thought where they are usually sorely lacking. Admirable isn’t even the half of it.

    manigen

    September 16, 2008 at 9:07 am

  11. Manigen, have you heard Julia Sweeney’s “Letting Go of God” recordings? They’re on iTunes and YouTube. I heard an except on NPR’s “This American Life” and then tracked the rest down online Oh mah gah, HILARIOUS. Her story is exactly what you’re talking about — a little scary, but also….not. Once she stopped trying to fool herself, life became easy.

    No worries, dude, there are still 104 chapters of the Quran left, and after that? Who knows! Maybe hadith. Maybe the Book of Mormon. I guess we’ll get there when we get there =)

    kafirgirl

    September 16, 2008 at 9:47 am

  12. Hi Manigen,

    At the risk of being pedantic, I’d add that all of us a born atheist. We have no notion or reliance on “God”. But it gets injected into us by family and society under the guise of discerning good from bad and right from wrong. Over time however, the fairy tale takes hold of our imagination and often our conscience.

    Actually its hard to imagine what it means to be raised in an “Atheistic” setting. Surely that is the unusual situation.

    Cheers

    Rahul

    September 16, 2008 at 1:08 pm

  13. KG, I haven’t heard her recordings, but I’ll see if I can track them down.

    Rahul, good point. Strictly, I guess you’d have to say everyone is born agnostic on pretty much every issue. I suppose what I meant to convey was that I was never exposed to religion as anything other than “this is something other people believe”. It was never presented to me as a Truth with a capital T.

    manigen

    September 17, 2008 at 8:32 am

  14. for the lack of any particular place to post this, i am posting this here..

    its for you and only for your KG darling. eNjOy..

    http://www.prosebeforehos.com/video-of-the-day/09/25/sarah-palin-is-dumb-as-a-fucking-rock/

    watch the entire series.

    Shashi

    September 25, 2008 at 4:58 pm


Leave a Reply

