KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

KafirGirl on CafePress

with 43 comments

Know what you need?  A KafirGirl t-shirt.  Know where you can get one?  From my CafePress shop!  Whoo!!  And here’s the best part:  I’m donating every single cent of profit to good causes! It’ll be a different charity or organization each month.

There are 3 different designs available on a variety of t-shirts and hoodies, plus a bunch of other cool shit like a mugs, buttons & bags.  There’s even a t-shirt for your kafir dog.

Go check em out!  Read the 5-second FAQ below if you have questions about how / why I’m doing this.


Quick FAQ:

  • Who designed the shirts?
    Yours truly.
  • Why are you donating the profits?
    My husband and I have good jobs.  We make enough dough to live comfortably, so why not donate it?  I’ll feel good about it, you’ll feel good about it — it’s a win-win situation.
  • How do I know you’re actually donating the profits?
    I have no reason to lie.  If I wanted to make a profit off of my site, I would.  But I don’t ask for donations and I don’t expect to ever make a dime off of it.  This site is a labor of love.
  • I hate CafePress.  Why didn’t you go with SpreadShirt?
    Anonymity.  SpreadShirt has this rule where they display your name and mailing address on your store page.  CafePress doesn’t do that.  Safety first!
  • When will you make the first donation?  Who is it going to?
    As soon as CafePress cuts me a check.  I haven’t decided yet who’s getting the first donation. The first donation is going to the Ayaan Hirsi Ali Security Trust.  Feel free to share any other worthy causes and we’ll take it from there!
  • If you see me wearing my Kafir shirt out and about, will you give me a high five?
    Fuckin’ A, I’ll give you two high fives.  And a hug.

Got any other questions?  Leave ’em in the comments & I’ll get back to you!

Written by kafirgirl

August 18, 2008 at 4:40 pm

Posted in cafepress

Tagged with

43 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you see me wearing my Kafir shirt out and about, will you give me a high five?
    Fuckin’ A, I’ll give you two high fives. And a hug.

    If you really want anonimity, you probably should throw rocks at people wearing your t-shirts. Otherwise it would be easy to figure out who you are! :-)

    Mauro

    August 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm

  2. Mauro, I think the people wearing my shirts would be a-OK with me!

    kafirgirl

    August 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm

  3. Cool.

    Doubting Foo

    August 18, 2008 at 5:19 pm

  4. Gee, does being a godless former Christian-variety infidel qualify me as a Kafir Boy? If so, you may consider me your first customer effective tomorrow, and I’d like to humbly suggest Ayaan Hirsi Ali as a suitable donation cause. KG … you’re the best!

    a4atheist

    August 18, 2008 at 8:29 pm

  5. A4aheist, an excellent suggestion! It’s all official: the first month’s sales are going to Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s security trust.

    And thank you for being the first kafir to get a shirt!

    kafirgirl

    August 18, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  6. Given that there’s kafir bloggers out there in countries where they face severe penalties for speaking out, I’d like to suggest Amnesty International as another possibility, on behalf of those being imprisoned for speaking their conscience.

    The Freedom from Religion Foundation would be another great possibility.

    The James Randi Educational Foundation would be another great one, especially given Phil Plaitt’s plans for big science education initiatives for kids.

    Gregory

    August 18, 2008 at 9:37 pm

  7. Cute! I like the pig and the happy face.

    notreallyalice

    August 19, 2008 at 12:12 am

  8. Just so long as you promise not to sneakily turn around and spend the money on building a mosque, I’ll put my order in for a pwnd shirt this evening.

    manigen

    August 19, 2008 at 6:06 am

  9. Gregory, all fantastic suggestions. I think I’ll make those the next 3. Hopefully the shirts will keep selling for as long as I’ve got chapters to read!

    manigen, I promise I won’t sneakily turn around and spend the money on a mosque! Wouldn’t that be a bitch? No, the first month’s sales are going to Ayaan Hirsi Ali. We may not agreen on everything — politics — but she’s one of my heroes for being such an outspoken ex-Muslim.

    ixolite, thanks for the suggestions. I hadn’t heard of either of those organizations. I’ll look through the sites when I get the chance.

    kafirgirl

    August 19, 2008 at 7:44 am

  10. Is the black circle around the happy face a hijab?

    kereng

    August 19, 2008 at 8:37 am

  11. Oh hell no. It’s a black circle around the happy face.

    You can think of it as my black halo of kafirness if it makes you feel better.

    kafirgirl

    August 19, 2008 at 8:39 am

  12. It does look like a hijab actually. Doesn’t matter.

    Lot more apparel for gals, the guy one is kinda shouting of being a kafir. I dont know about the states, but I could get attacked just for wearing that. And since I love life, I can not buy any of these things.

    Another Kafir

    August 19, 2008 at 10:04 am

  13. AK, I can totally understand that! The pig shirt was my attempt at being discreet — I have a fucking hard time tiptoeing around shit.

    I’m working on some more designs and I’ll have them up shortly. Maybe even a street-safe one that won’t get anyone beaten up.

    kafirgirl

    August 19, 2008 at 10:07 am

  14. Hiya. I would have emailed but I couldn’t find an address.

    Will you be publishing your Quran-reading articles in book form once you’ve finished reading it? I’d buy a copy.

    Jeff J

    August 19, 2008 at 6:47 pm

  15. I’m curious: what would you guess would be the reaction if this t-shirt was worn in a Muslim neighborhood in the US? How about in a Muslim country?

    Is this a stoning offense? or would it be considered amusing?

    dromedaryhump

    August 19, 2008 at 7:13 pm

  16. oops… sorry didnt see the q&a above my commnet.

    dromedaryhump

    August 19, 2008 at 7:14 pm

  17. Will you be publishing your Quran-reading articles in book form once you’ve finished reading it? I’d buy a copy.

    Hi Jeff! I highly doubt I could find someone to publish my little rants and raves in book form. I haven’t actually given it much thought, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out by the time I’m done with this project.

    dromedaryhump, I’m sure in the U.S. it would just get you dirty looks. Probably the same as if you wore a shirt saying ATHEIST on it.

    kafirgirl

    August 19, 2008 at 7:44 pm

  18. My hand is hovering over the order button for that Kafir Dog shirt.

    Michelle Stone

    August 19, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  19. The image “https://kafirgirl.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/shirts.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

    May be I lied; I’m still seeing a blank square for the second image. When I click it i get the above message. :-(

    watercat

    August 20, 2008 at 12:29 am

  20. Just caught this. Remember how we found differences in the two translations of Ahmed Ali?
    I was all WTF when you cited the infamous Abrogation Verse as 2:106, because in my copy it is verse 2:107. Just sorted it out: there are two #86’s in the Arthur Wendor version of Ahmed Ali. (LOL! He eighty-sixed it!)

    This throws off the numbering so all of Wendor’s verses are one number less than they should be. But only till verse 168, after which they are correct again! Old Arthur just left out #168: not the verse, the number. So from 169 on the two versions match up again. Helluva thing to do with god’s
    Sacred Holy Inviolate Testament, ain’t it?

    watercat

    August 20, 2008 at 12:36 am

  21. Michelle, your kafir dog will be the hottest thing on the block. And a philanthropist, to boot.

    So bizarre, Watercat, it works for me. WordPress has been so wonky lately. The top image is the link — it should take you to the store….if it works bahaha!

    Also, that’s the SECOND numbering error in Wendor’s Ahmed Ali text! I caught the other one and fixed it manually. Now I’ll have to go back and fix that entire chapter. Baaaaah!

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 7:47 am

  22. Kafir Girl, it’s a great idea to help Ayaan, really, what ure doing is fantastic. U know, i just love the logo u made, something about that smiley face just cheers me up, it’s beyond cool. I really woulnd’t hesitate to buy a top actually, but i can’t sadly, not cos i am afraid and stuff with me location, no, it’s cos i have no credit card, in fact i am even not allowed money as such, anyhow, that’s me situation. but when i can, surely i will.

    jasminefrompakistan

    August 20, 2008 at 9:50 am

  23. Thanks Jasmine! I’m glad you liked em. I ordered the white hoodie for myself because I’m a geek. One I get it, I’ll wear it out and post the reaction. (My guess is that it’ll get me some high fives.)

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 10:07 am

  24. Why do you need to change the chapters? I has a confusement; I thought that is Arthur W’s work. ?

    At any rate here’s another one: You mention 7:27 in The Cow pt; I should be 79:27. But if you go to 79:27 in Arthur’s version, there is no v27: it’s tagged onto the end of 26, with the number omitted. v26 should end after “…fear (the consequences).”

    Sorry to pick so many nits. I’ll make a sweater for you. lol.

    The upper image works fine for me.

    watercat

    August 20, 2008 at 10:41 am

  25. I didn’t mean change chapters. I meant, I have to go back through the posts I made on those chapters and switch those numbers around. I think I’m making the switch to the Quran Online Project permanently. Screw Arthur.

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 10:58 am

  26. Actually you know what, I think I will order one so that I can wear it someday, that would be the hope for keeping everything atheist alive. Then again it might be useful when i visit the states.

    Another Kafir

    August 20, 2008 at 11:17 am

  27. AK, you could always get a coffee mug. Nobody would have to know =)

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 11:21 am

  28. KG said, “I ordered the white hoodie for myself…”

    Gee, a hoodie is kind of like a hijab.

    *ducks*

    Michael

    August 20, 2008 at 11:41 am

  29. Michael, I’ll pray for you.

    ….bahahaha! Can you imagine?

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 11:44 am

  30. “it’s cos i have no credit card, in fact i am even not allowed money as such”

    May I ask if that is because of your families religious beliefs?

    GAD

    August 20, 2008 at 11:44 am

  31. KG: I’ll just assume you’ll be praying for my early demise. :-)

    Michael

    August 20, 2008 at 11:51 am

  32. GAD

    August 20, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  33. Ok, I’m probably going to look foolish for asking, but what does PWND mean?

    Johnny Cache

    August 20, 2008 at 10:07 pm

  34. Johnny Cache, not foolish at all. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pwn

    Yup, there’s a wikipedia page for literally everything!

    kafirgirl

    August 20, 2008 at 10:14 pm

  35. If you use Firefox you should add the answers add on. It is a god send for looking up words,terms, phrases and acronyms. Put your mouse over a word, hold alt and click for a pop up definition.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/735

    GAD

    August 20, 2008 at 11:30 pm

  36. I just wouldn’t recommend wearing these shirts in South Africa and some other parts of Africa. Over there during colonialism the Arabic word “kafir” has been Anglocized into “kaffir” and is a really offensive racial remark, on par with “nigger”.

    Hard Rain

    August 21, 2008 at 10:10 am

  37. Agreed — if you live in South Africa, buy the pig shirt.

    GAD, awesome, I’m getting it right now.

    kafirgirl

    August 21, 2008 at 10:16 am

  38. Muslims generally wouldn’t freak out at all in me own opinion and wearing a shirt would be ok (South Africa is something else), but muslims in our countries would be ok, simply cos they just see the smiley face, that’s it, it’s nothing to worry about at all. Muslims also don’t read labels cos i have seen in the souqs zillions of times and they have t.shirts with stuff like, “Hot Tramp,” and “I’m feelin’ hot,” and yes, very conservative girls wear these and don’t know the meanings. So u could be in Dubai, Bahrain and liberal Muslims countries and it’s ok, really it is. In conservative ones like Saudi Arab, of course, u would be wearing ure abaya anyhow and people would be staring at ure tits rather than ure shirt anyhow. Even in Pakistan actually, u could be a “Kafir Girl,” cos we got the Kafirs (no not africans, but Pakistan has africans in Makran, no, Kafirs is a very ancient people and that’s their name, the Kafirs, or Kalasha, and they are in Kafiristan (not our part of the blogosphere), no, it’s a whole region and the ethnic Kafir girls got their own style, dress and dances. So if u wear a Kafir Girl shirt even in Pakistan, it’s ok, people will just think it’s for the Kalasha.
    In short, should u worry about hassle if u get ure shirt? No, no way, there’s nothing to worry about in any way, it’s cool, and i would wear one in Dubai for example and not even worry for as second.

    jasminefrompakistan

    August 21, 2008 at 10:58 am

  39. Great job on the blog and great choice for the first donation!

    kkiikk

    August 21, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  40. […] … next week I’ll post a pic of me in my new Kafir Boy shirt. Woohoo! Let the gods […]

  41. Thank you for your blog, excellent job!

    Well I hope one month the donations will go to FaithFreedom.org

    Actually why not in the future create a fund for those apostates of islam who flee their countries?

    I wouldn’t donate to Amnesty, I think they are very often reluctant to address any issues related to islam, and its victims.

    All the best

    PS: Not really your style, but could give you some ideas maybe:
    http://www.faithfreedom.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=630167#630167

    Anna Doe

    August 27, 2008 at 3:10 am

  42. […] the day I die.  I give money to charity whenever I can afford it, and there’s that little CafePress thing I’m trying to do.  When I was in college and couldn’t really afford to donate money, I […]


Leave a Reply

