KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Comment policy. All official and shit.

with 19 comments

I’ve been putting off having to write a comment policy because, well, I have enough shit to do.  I like to think people are mature enough to handle themselves.  And we had a nice little community going for a while until a couple of especially irritating jackasses showed up.  Hint: it’s not the atheists that are causing me agita.

Want to know what pisses me off?  Here’s my shortlist.  Emphasis on short.  I ganked some of them from PZ “Balls the Size of Montana” Myers and you can see the full list at Pharyngula.

  • Trolling
    Disrupting the thread, inciting flames & confusion.  Friendly reminder:  Don’t feed the trolls, people.  You’re just making more work for me.
  • Concern trolling
    Pretending to believe in X just so you can argue against it.
  • Insipitidy
    Being repetitive, boring me to death.
  • Sockpuppetry
    Using multiple identities.
  • Assuming I’m Jewish or Christian
    If you’re going to comment without checking out FAQs or my deconversion story or seeing the big fat A for atheist in my sidebar, then you’re an asshat.
  • Godspeak
    “God is merciful”, “God be with you,” prayers, etc.  I get enough of that shit in the Quran, thankyouverymuch.
  • Hellspeak
    Telling anyone they’re going to hell.  Again, the Quran covers this in depth.  I don’t need to hear that bullshit in my comments.
  • Going completely off-topic.
    Talking about X when the post isn’t about X at all.  I realize some threads naturally veer off course and that’s fine, but there are limits.  This is not a BBS or an open forum.

Now I could go through and delete every one of these comments, but that takes time.  Time I could spend reading and deciphering the Quran.  Time I could be spending with my husband, dog & cat.  Time I could be outside, away from the computer.  It’s quicker, easier, and much less frustrating for me to just go ahead and not publish your comments.

So I’m making it official.  Here’s my policy: 
I am God.  I don’t like you?  I boot your ass out of my Eden.

Simple as that.  Know what this blog is about and what it isn’t about, and stick to it.  Oh, and cuss your fucking heart out.  I don’t give a shit.

If you want to read some comment policies I think are fantastic and apply to this blog, check these out:

P.S. WordPress allows simple HTML tags in comments:
<b> – bold
<i> – italics
<blockquote> – to quote something
Links set themselves up; just paste the URL and you’re good to go.
Image tags haven’t worked for me.  Silly WordPress!  Treat them like links or else nothing will show up in the comment.

That’s it.  Now lets get on with life, plz&thnx.

Written by kafirgirl

August 16, 2008 at 11:58 am

Posted in Rant

Tagged with ,

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Insipidity
    Being repetitive, boring me to death.

    ..and you’re reading the koran? ROFLMFAO!

    gasp…once I stop laughing, good job. Just for some substance, here’s this, relative to the Koran’s repetitiveness. The book of mormon is famous for repeating the phrase “and it came to pass that….” I analysed the first five chapters and that single phrase makes up 12% of the total text!

    Mo does better than that at least; but you guys showed me some scary shit about mind control, repetition, chanting. Myself, I think the Rastafarians have a better method of achieving altered states.

    watercat

    August 16, 2008 at 1:14 pm

  2. Ack I know! It’s more like that whole he’s-a-pedophile, he’s-not-a-pedophile, he’s-a-pedophile argument that went on a while ago. Fuck that noise.

    Myself, I think the Rastafarians have a better method of achieving altered states.

    The Sufi’s, too! I vaguely remember something about certain Sufi groups getting drunk and smoking hashish to experience closeness to God. God schmod, they sound like they know how to party.

    I’ve heard that about “and it came to pass that…” in the BoM. I seriously don’t think I could make it past 2 verses. I mean the Quran, with all of its “God is most blahblahblah” is turning my brain into oatmeal.

    kafirgirl

    August 16, 2008 at 1:24 pm

  3. I found that implementing a comment policy made a huge difference. I still get some Christian trolls looking to convert the atheists but nowhere near as many as I did before. I bet yours will help too.

    vjack

    August 16, 2008 at 1:44 pm

  4. vjack, I just read through your policy. I’m adding it to the list above. Hope that’s OK!

    kafirgirl

    August 16, 2008 at 1:49 pm

  5. Thanks for the shoutout, and damn, I shoulda ripped off Myers, too :).

    As for Sufis — of course, there are those silly Whirling Dervishes who, faced with all the options, chose spinning in circles. But I’ll cut them slack. Wasn’t Rumi their founder? I dig some of Rumi’s shit, hardnosed atheist though I may be. He’ll probably figure in one of my “Religious Wisdom Friday” posts sometime.

    Gregory

    August 16, 2008 at 2:24 pm

  6. I am starting to like you I have not prayed tonight even though I should have. I find it slighting arousing. Well I find it slightly arousing when you attack Islam.

    Is this what you wanted to hear KG?

    ZAIN

    August 16, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  7. Actually sufi’s are quite interesting, they were syncretic in many ways, and were natural pacifists. Earlier, among muslims in India, tilting towards sufi ideas was considered as becoming a moderate and peaceful person for a muslim. Aurangzeb’s bro, Dara Shikoh considered himself sufi and did not like the oppressive policies of Aurangzeb. Well as it happened, Dara Shikoh was killed by Aurangzeb and sufi ideas have not stayed in a big way in the subcontinent.

    Another Kafir

    August 16, 2008 at 10:13 pm

  8. Another Kafir: you are mistaken majority of Pakistanis follow Sufi Islam. Hence visiting shrines and Pakistani rock bands such as Junoon, ROXEN and artists such as Dub Factory, Abrar-ul-Haq, Atif Aslam etc. Sufism is huge in Pakistan. Punjabi’s were pioneers of Sufism see the poetry in fact Punjabi poetry was atheistic in nature. Take for example Baba Bullay Shah and Waris Shah’s rendering of the tragic love story of the Punjab Heer Ranjha on the face of it it looks like praising god however it has a deeper subliminal meaning.

    ZAIN

    August 17, 2008 at 1:41 am

  9. Gregory, no prob! I’m pretty sure Rumi wasn’t the founder of Sufism — he studied it under a famous Sufi teacher, and he was waaaay into the whirling. I also dig his poetry. It’s way more entertaining than the Quran, that’s for sure.

    AK, Sufism has always struck me as sort of a hippie movement within Islam. Thanks for sharing some of the history. I know so little about it — I think we covered it for maybe a week in my Islamic history class and it all went by so quickly. I’ll definitely read up on it when I get some time.

    kafirgirl

    August 17, 2008 at 2:10 am

  10. Kg, sorry, go to geobytes and check the ip locator. This is really funny, actually.
    I will be here for about another 8 hours. Here to discuss a marriage proposal but i will be holed up in the hotel. Flying back in the evening. ok, no more time, got to run.

    jasminefrompakistan

    August 17, 2008 at 2:53 am

  11. *reads policy*

    *reads policy again*

    *tries some tags*

    All seems perfectly fair to me. When you get right down to it this is your blog and nobody else’s. Trolling has always struck me as being parasitic: the troll has this opinion that they desperately want everyone else to hear, but they lack the articulacy and wit to generate an audience of their own, so they try to feed on an audience built up by someone else.

    manigen

    August 17, 2008 at 4:36 am

  12. I keep my own blog comment policy like God’s policy to the Israelites: full of blustering threats, casual violence and selective outrage. :)

    Quentin George

    August 17, 2008 at 6:33 am

  13. Zain, I might be wrong but there are not many sufis in India at least. Sunni islam has taken precedence. Of course sufi culture is rich and that will not go, neither would the visit to shrines stop. I do not think we have Bullah Shah sort of sufis nowadays, because sufi’s were far more moderate the muslims of the subcontinent.

    Another Kafir

    August 17, 2008 at 10:15 am

  14. I think kabir is most remembered in India for his poetry. Sufi poetry was based on common life and conventional wisdom. There was not much religious about them, in fact Bulla Shah’s poems can be considered to a form of atheist questioning.

    Another Kafir

    August 17, 2008 at 10:17 am

  15. And hey sorry for commenting so many times consecutively but I read about the music bands Zain mentioned, they are a genre, and not necessarily sufi in nature.

    Another Kafir

    August 17, 2008 at 10:19 am

  16. manigen,

    the troll has this opinion that they desperately want everyone else to hear, but they lack the articulacy and wit to generate an audience of their own, so they try to feed on an audience built up by someone else.

    I’m seeing that more and more everyday. Their blog is a huge failure so they try to use yours as a platform.

    QG, niiiiiice! I felt like I had to talk in a language these religious types could understand.

    Jasmine — wooooooah! I wish you could stay there!

    kafirgirl

    August 17, 2008 at 10:22 am

  17. image tags will work, if you add a body tag to them before the image tag.

    For example ” Image tag here

    Let me give it a try:

    Saqeeb

    October 7, 2008 at 8:26 am

  18. Ok maybe not.

    Saqeeb

    October 7, 2008 at 8:29 am

  19. […] this is not a BBS. Stay on the post’s topic. My policy is that all comments are moderated. KafirGirl and Atheist Revolution have comment policies that I will implementing […]


Leave a Reply

