KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

You know the drill: LOLmuslim + week in review.

with 14 comments

This week’s LOLmuslim was inspired by Martin’s post over at the Atheist Experience blog.


Ooh wee, it’s been a rough week.  First the ladder incident, and now a viral infection that’s making me snotty coughy sneezy.  Must be the wrath of God.  Good thing there’s Tylenol, and it comes in AM and PM flavors!  On a positive note, I had the pleasure of checking the little box next to Atheist on my medical forms at the doctor’s office.  I had no idea doctors gave a shit about their patients’ religions, but it was one of those big hospitals with the churchy names.  Like Saint Presbyterian Methodist.  Not sure what they’re going to do with that information, but it still made me happy as a pig in shit to declare myself.

I made a couple of additions and subtractions to the layout:

  • The search feature is no longer in the sidebar.  It’s up top by the LOLmuslim tab.
  • The Recent Posts section got the axe.  I think the All Posts (By Chapter) tab does the job just fine and keeps things from getting clusterfuckish.
  • Spread the word, bird:  Kafir Girl is now on Technorati.  You can add this blog to your favorites by clicking that little green button in the Other Stuff section (right under Links + Resources).
  • I got a Creative Commons license.  Link in the sidebar.  And, hell, here too.
  • If you’re subscribing to the live feed and you’re not getting comment updates, there’s a link for Comments in the upper right hand corner that should do the trick.  (Thanks for the tip, Michael.)

Comment policy.  Sigh.  I’ve been putting that one off for a while.  I linked over to Apostate’s comment policy and called it a day, because she are write better than I does.  Plus bureaucratic bullshit is just not my thing.  I like to think that people are mah-toor enough to respect someone’s blogspace and not treat it like it’s public domain.  …stop laughing.  An actual comment policy is coming up soon.

That about covers it.  Chapter 8 is being read and reread.  I’ll write that at some point today.  If I feel like it.  Friday is the kafir day of laziness.

Written by kafirgirl

August 15, 2008 at 8:48 am

Posted in Friday, review

Tagged with ,

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay for Copylefts! :D

    I’ve added you to my technofavorites too and since you’re doing all the blogging enhancement stuff, you may find my resecent post useful. ;)

    Cheers!

    Db0

    August 15, 2008 at 9:18 am

  2. I personally like the Bad Astronomer comment policy of, “Don’t be a jerk.”

    It’s simple, flexible and direct. And avoids the bureacratic nonsense.

    mystikphish

    August 15, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  3. KG.. you are sooo in trouble.

    Shashi

    August 15, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  4. I done Tylenol and Advil KG, but it’s downclass and nothing, but Oxycontin and Percocet are super highs.

    jasminefrompakistan

    August 15, 2008 at 2:09 pm

  5. db0, sweet! Thanks so much. I’ll check out your post fo’ sho’.

    Mystikphish, I dig that comment policy, but one could argue that I’m Queen Jerk because of the way I write. Meh. I’m a fun jerk, though, so I won’t ban myself.

    Shashi, I probably am. Oh well!

    Jas, I’m a goody two shoes. I don’t take anything stronger than Tylenol and Motrin. And I get drunk maybe once every couple of months. And I”m in a monogamous relationship. ….I’m a really boring person. Wow. Depressing.

    kafirgirl

    August 15, 2008 at 2:18 pm

  6. Yes, very funny indeed. Although this was so last year. I think you could to better KG.

    Masalaam, may Allah’s peace and mercy be on all.

    Zain

    August 15, 2008 at 6:10 pm

  7. So this ur trailer of what comes next in Al-Anfal-Sura 8.

    Wunder y no one makes such cartoons of Buddha/Jesus/Zoroaster/Krishna/Mahavira/Sikh Gurus.Lol. Perhaps in ur post on Sura 8, u might want to throw some light on this.Lol.

    anand

    August 16, 2008 at 6:50 am

  8. I like to think that people are mah-toor enough to respect someone’s blogspace and not treat it like it’s public domain. …stop laughing.

    Heh… remind me to tell you about the time my blog was overrun by a pack of foul-mouthed teenage British Muslim girls who seemed to think my blog was a chat room.

    Chicken Girl

    August 16, 2008 at 9:35 am

  9. Yeah, Chicken Girl, what the fuck? Does this look like a forum? Yiish. ….got a comments policy I can steal? Ha!

    kafirgirl

    August 16, 2008 at 9:55 am

  10. I dunno why you are obsessing over a comments policy, just say “Don’t say anything that pisses me off.” No matter what kind of convoluted lawyerese you put it in, that’s all they ever say anyhow.

    “Iz mai blog. Yu no liek? Git own blog.” —-Mewhowmad

    The only useful info in whether or not to swear (not an issue here, lol) and what kind of html tags to use. On that point, it’d be neat if we could preview our comments before posting.

    watercat

    August 16, 2008 at 10:59 am

  11. Watercat, I dunno why I’m obsessing over it either. I guess I’m just trying to be fair all around. But you’re right, iz mai blawg. I do what I want. I think I came up with something that works.

    Great idea on the html tags. I have no idea how to set it up so you can preview comments. Any Wordprexpert wanna help me out??

    kafirgirl

    August 16, 2008 at 11:37 am

  12. This is weird, my comment dissapeared. Let me repost:

    KG, you can’t do much to change your template on a free wordpress.com account to allow preview. If you had a self-hosted one I would suggest intense debate ;)

    Db0

    August 16, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  13. I think the doctor’s office asks for religion info for last rites and whatnot. Like if they have to call a Catholic priest if you’re in an accident or if they shouldn’t do an autopsy I you’re Muslim. I dunno. Just a guess.

    BTW I’m new here *waves*. I grew up Catholic, converted to Islam at 21 and over the past few years went from an agnostic who believed that it was better to believe something “just in case” to my current state of “closet atheist”. I’m posting under a different name and email as I am married to a Muslim and know that even though my husband couldn’t really give two shits what I believe that his fundie parents would force a divorce should they find out (NOT something I want).

    Emmy

    September 4, 2008 at 6:40 am

  14. Hi Emmy! Welcome to the party. Wow, an ex-Catholic, ex-Muslim closeted atheist. First one I’ve ever met. High five! That’s really shitty about your husband’s parents. Do you mind if I ask where you live?

    kafirgirl

    September 4, 2008 at 7:55 am


Leave a Reply

