KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Week in review.

with 9 comments

What a week.  This site has only been active for about 6 days now, and I’ve already got three chapters under my belt.  Three long, boring chapters.  And I haven’t run off or slit my wrists or anything.  But there are over 100 chapters left, so stay tuned.  Anything could happen!

I got a shout out on the Non-Prophets podcast yesterday, which made me squeal with delight.  I wish I was kidding.  I actually said out loud, “Squeeeee!”  So thank you for that, Russell.  You guys are awesome.

I read in the comments that some of you have decided to read the Quran along, which makes me want to pump my fist in the air, ’80s movie style.  I’m pretty sure you’re all much, much smarter than me, and I’m sure you’ll catch things I would never even notice.  Let’s dissect this shit together, shall we?

In not so positive news, I had my very first troll.  His ass got sacked already, but this is a great opportunity for me to lay down the law here.  Listen, dudes, I make it a point to reply to as many comments as I can, because I am genuinely appreciative of anyone who is willing to read what I have to say.  But I do not have time to argue with people in the comments.  I have a fucking Quran to read, and that shit takes up a lot of my already limited time.  I honestly don’t have the energy or the motivation to duke it out with dumbasses. I realize what I’m doing here is going to raise some eyebrows, and I’m absolutely open to discussion and criticism.  But when criticism crosses the line into blatant assholery and does nothing to further the discussion?  Game over.

Oh, and to anyone coming here to prostelityze or to try to convert me back to Islam:  seriously, don’t bother.  You’re wasting your time and mine.  Go do something productive.

Back to the Quran.  The Battle of Badr is coming up soon.

Written by kafirgirl

July 13, 2008 at 11:55 pm

Posted in review

Tagged with

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yet another new fan coming here from the Non Prophets–this is a great blog! Congrats on your first troll; that’s how you know you’re doing something right!

    musesusan

    July 14, 2008 at 3:18 am

  2. Hey musesusan! Thank you. And double thank you for reminding me to finish listening to Saturday’s show — I got way side tracked by old Jeebux.

    kafirgirl

    July 14, 2008 at 11:54 am

  3. Fellow Non-Prophets listener eager to read your coming installments . . . since I’ve little patience to try actually reading said book myself Xb Much admiration, though, for your willingness to tackle this project, and hope any theidiocy is kept to a minimum. Also curious when the crystal clear raisins will come into play ^_^

    Mike Lee

    July 14, 2008 at 12:11 pm

  4. I’m coming here from Dwindling in Unbelief. I’ve never read the Quran, so this is pretty interesting to me. Good work so far and I look forward to reading more.

    Joey

    July 14, 2008 at 1:33 pm

  5. Hi Joey and Mike Lee!

    Mike — I have zero patience AND I have A.D.D. The Quran was definitely not written for someone like me. As for the raisin thing, as far as I know, that’s just speculation. I also recently read that instead of virgins, those verses might be referring to cold fruity drinks (daiquiris?! Sign me up!). It would make sense to me, because a) it contrasts with the boiling water we’ll be drinking in hell and b) I bet an icy cold drink did sound like heaven on a hot day in the desert. How cold fruity drinks turns into virgins is beyond me, but that’s all part of the mystery.

    kafirgirl

    July 14, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  6. I got a shout out on the Non-Prophets podcast yesterday, which made me squeal with delight.

    I know how you feel: I got a shout-out in the Apr. 12 episode, and that episode is still marked do-not-delete in my podcast aggregator.

    Kazim et al.: see how easy it is to make people happy?

    arensb

    July 14, 2008 at 5:52 pm

  7. I heard about your blog from the Non-Prophets, and I’m really enjoying your posts and your writing style.

    “Are you making fun of us?” (regarding sacrificing a cow). Hilarious!

    Rob

    July 16, 2008 at 4:37 am

  8. Hey Rob! That line in particular actually made me laugh out loud. It reminded me of this one Family Guy episode where Moses and the Jews are wandering around in the desert, and all the Jews can do is complain, complain, complain. They could have lifted that scene from the Quran, no joke.

    kafirgirl

    July 16, 2008 at 12:03 pm

  9. Hi there

    Earlier this week, Channel 4 in the UK broadcast a really good documentary that may be of interest. Simply called “The Qur’an” it discussed “how much do Muslims and non-Muslims understand its message and its history?” Some points made by kafirgirl came up (I waited for ‘woman = half a man’ but it didn’t come, though plenty re. the position of women) as well as a few other interesting facts, figures & discussion points

    You can get an overview at:

    http://www.channel4.com/culture/microsites/C/can_you_believe_it/debates/quran.html

    There are torrents around of the program

    sph

    July 17, 2008 at 6:36 pm


Leave a Reply

