KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Rock the vote!

with 22 comments

Wow. I got an email from a reader named Ray (hi, Ray!) saying he’d nominated me for a 2009 LadyBlogger awards at Culture 11, which is run by religious conservative Bill Bennett.  Yup.  I’m repping the atheists in the Best Religion Blog category.  I’d never heard of LadyBlogger or Culture 11 or Bill Bennett until just now, but it’s still pretty cool.  If you feel like voting for me, you can do it here.  If you don’t feel like doing it, that’s cool too, you lazy summabitch.  No wait.  It isn’t.  Vote for me.

By the way, check out the criteria for nomination:

Someone thinks I have professional-level grammar and style?  The fuck?  Seriously??

Written by kafirgirl

January 23, 2009 at 9:31 am

Posted in Quran

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ok, I voted for you. Do I get a prize of some kind? I got this rather bizzare message “Thank you for voting in the 2009 Ladyblog Awards. Your vote for RELIGION has been recorded.”

    Honestly… I have NEVER voted for Religion!!

    DavidW

    January 23, 2009 at 9:57 am

  2. @ DavidW. Seriously, I haven’t voted for Religion either. LOL.

    @ KG, I voted for you too. Hope you wouldn’t mind sharing the million dollar prize money with readers of your blog ;-). I just hope they don’t manufacture a reason to deny you the award if you win it fair and square – you know how most of the religious types are?

    Nitwit Nastik

    January 23, 2009 at 11:11 am

  3. Voted!

    Enrico

    January 23, 2009 at 11:34 am

  4. KafirGirl for president 2012!

    sorry couldn’t resist, anyway I voted for you. Your blog posts here have given me so much fun and entertainment (as well as valuable insight.) that it’s the least I can do.

    DrakeDarkHunter

    January 23, 2009 at 11:49 am

  5. OK, I did my part. Now how about a new post as a bone.

    GAD

    January 23, 2009 at 11:51 am

  6. I think you fulfill all the requisites, in your own way. It would be awesome if you won and the guy had to post some excerpts from your posts on the site… he’d have to do a lot of “bleeping” — or, since it’s written, a lot of ****ing!

    Mauro

    January 23, 2009 at 12:10 pm

  7. updated regularly – check
    clean writing – check
    professional-level grammar and style – check
    interactive, video, audio – check
    blogger seems redundant – check

    kereng

    January 23, 2009 at 1:25 pm

  8. Voted for you too.

    But does anyone else sense a hint of sexism in this. I mean does it not presuppose that women need to be given this separate sandbox otherwise they may be outclassed by men?

    HolyDude

    January 23, 2009 at 1:41 pm

  9. And my axe! (eh, click). Done.

    Clear concise writing? According to this readability test on http://kafirgirl.wordpress.com the KG-blog is very readable. somewhat between The Bible and Readers Digest.

    Two important indicators:
    Average Syllables per Word – 1.42
    Average words per Sentence – 7.14

    I. kid. ye. not.

    DutchA

    January 23, 2009 at 2:33 pm

  10. DutchA

    January 23, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  11. DutchA

    January 23, 2009 at 2:34 pm

  12. @ DutchA Thanks . I looked up my blog too. I found the typical fog index scores chart funny.

    Over 20 > Only government sites can get away with this, because you can’t ignore them.
    Over 30 > The government is covering something up

    LOL!

    nitwit Nastik

    January 23, 2009 at 2:46 pm

  13. I’ve voted, but it’s a bit suspicious that the site doesn’t give a running tally of the votes.

    manigen

    January 23, 2009 at 3:35 pm

  14. right, you’ve got my vote. :-)

    Muhamad

    January 23, 2009 at 4:30 pm

  15. Hi all,

    Had to share this clip with you all: Here’s a scarf-dude inviting OBAMA to adopt Islam and stake a claim to virtue.

    Since KG’s bound to accept DrakeDarkHunter’s invitation to run for the presidency in 2012 and since she’s bound to win, I suppose it is’nt too far-fetched to expect her to receive such an invitation herself.

    HolyDude

    January 23, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  16. My first post here ^_^ You’ve got my vote. This is the first Qur’an blog I’ve actually enjoyed reading, all the other ones I’ve tried were either Christian conservatives who were just as preachy and boring as the text they were dissecting or Muslim apologists trying to explain how all the blood and hellfire really meant flowers and rainbows and fluffy little kittens. Blah. Can’t wait to read more of yours :-)

    Fluffyskunk

    January 24, 2009 at 1:02 am

  17. Hey, thanks for the vote dudes & dudettes. I doubt I have a chance of winning, but it would be kind of funny if a conservasite had to link back here with all the fuck, ass & shit going on.

    Fluffyskunk, that’s precisely why I started this thing. There wasn’t really a non-religious voice out there when I looked. Unfortunately I now see why. It’s because the book is so fucking boring, nobody can stomach it.

    kafirgirl

    January 24, 2009 at 12:02 pm

  18. KG,

    Perhaps you could write to PZ Myers and canvas out there. It would be fun indeed to win this one. Just for perverse pleasure.

    HolyDude

    January 24, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  19. Congratulations on your nomination…

    Every blessing,
    Ann

  20. Ah, one of the nominees. A staggering 7 Mb of Godwabble.

    DutchA

    January 28, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  21. “Winners will be announced January 28th.”

    And what happened?

    DutchA

    January 31, 2009 at 4:53 pm

  22. i voted!

    oh wait, “Winners will be announced January 28th” … does that mean i’m too late?

    so who won?

    Yoke

    February 3, 2009 at 3:07 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

