KafirGirl

We read the Quran so you don’t have to.

Shoe coffee meme time!

with 10 comments

Felicia Gilljam, who happens to be a beekeeper(!), tagged me for this meme that I filled out over my morning coffee.  I have to take a second here to complain about how horrible the coffee at work is.  Worst.  Coffee.  Ever.  I’ve had to sacrifice my morning coffee time at home so I can hit the gym and get all buff.  So I wait till I get to work to have my first awful cup.  The good news is that I’m saving a fortune by drinking free coffee at work.  And, because the work-coffee tastes like shoe, I tend to drink less of it.  The bad news is I think endorphins might be my new coffee.  Sweet lawsie mercy, I can’t wait till tomorrow when I can have a cup at home.

Anyway, meme time.

Here are the rules:

  1. Link to the person who tagged you.
  2. Post the rules on your blog.
  3. Write six random arbitrary things about yourself.
  4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
  5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog.
  6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up.
  • I keep my shoes in clear plastic shoe boxes I got from the Container Store.  I have 20 boxes, and my rule is to never have more shoes than I can fit in the boxes.  I stuff 3 pairs of flats into 1 box and pat myself on the back for finding a loophole.
  • I got my cat from Craigslist.  A hippie was moving to Alaska to live in a tent and grow organic food for himself.  At the very last minute, he realized a tent was no place for a cat.  He was 6 at the time.  The cat, not the hippie.
  • I am an awesome baker.  Cookies, cakes, pies, brownies, damn near anything.  From scratch.  But…
  • …I don’t eat sugar.  I just really enjoy the process of baking.  You’d think KafirBoy would weigh 300 lbs the way I shove cookies down his gullet.
  • I collect urban vinyl toys. This is my favorite little lady:
    Gag! Cute overload.
  • I live in NYC.  Yup.  I’m outing myself.  I still feel anonymous, though, since there are a bajillion brown folk in the city.  Booyah!

I’m going to go all rebellious middle child on ya’ll and break the last 3 rules.  I’m not tagging specific people.  I’m tagging everyone.  Share 6 random things about yourself.  Gimmie something to read when I get bored and antsy at 3:00.  It’s Friday, after all.  Annnnnd go!

Written by kafirgirl

January 16, 2009 at 11:49 am

Posted in Quran

Tagged with

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. I’m colourblind, and I inherited that from my maternal grandfather.

    2. I found this blog via Apathy Sketchpad.

    3. The weekend before last I cooked toad-in-the-hole (sausages baked in a light batter) and onion gravy. It was really nice, so this weekend I’m going to cook it again.

    4. I generally own four or five pairs of shoes at a time, but since I’m a man I sometimes feel like that may be too many.

    5. I walk to work instead of comuting on public transport, and I think that might be why I’m the only person in my office who hasn’t had a cold so far this winter.

    6. I think I might learn to play the piano, once I’ve saved up enough to afford a digital one for practicing.

    manigen

    January 16, 2009 at 12:19 pm

  2. Delurking time!

    1. In the course of my life I have identified myself as Jehovah’s Witness, generic Protestant, Wiccan, B’nai Noach, and Buddhist.
    2. I have a collection of enamel pins from Disneyland on the wall of my cubicle, one for each time I’ve been there with my boyfriend, totaling 5.
    3. My favorite wine is a 2006 Curran Grenache Blanc.
    4. I actually typed “favourite” in #3 and for a second thought it was right. I have absolutely no reason to have done so. I’m from California, FFS.
    5. I swear a lot. And I mean a LOT.
    6. I have deleted my Twitter account three times, and restored it twice.

    Thanks for the great blog, it’s great to see you back at the keys…

    chrystaline

    January 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm

  3. 6.5 – I absolutely hate that I just used “great” twice in the same sentence.

    chrystaline

    January 16, 2009 at 1:29 pm

  4. I bet it isn’t really possible to write six random arbitrary things about yourself.

    Where is the “random button” for one’s brain?

    I do realize that this may itself sound like a random sentence. Perhaps I have found the button…

    Paul Maurice Martin

    January 16, 2009 at 8:37 pm

  5. Six random things about myself:

    1. I’m currently in a seated position.

    2. I’ve been to Wyoming five times. As in, spent the day in Yellowstone/Jackson Hole, not just drove through the state.

    3. I drove a Volvo, then didn’t drive anything for a decade.

    4. One time, someone dared me over e-mail to take off my pants. I did!

    5. “xyz” isn’t my real name.

    6. I have collections of plastic army men, stuffed animals, Depeche Mode CDs, pinecones, and comic books in different languages (English, Spanish, German, Greek, Thai, Japanese and Chinese).

    xyz

    January 18, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  6. 1. I play Dungeons & Dragons every Saturday.

    2. I have “Idiopathic Hypersomnia”

    3. I am basically immune to Xyrem/GHB/Rohipnal/the “Date Rape Drug.” I know this thanks to #2.

    4. My nickname, above, is an accurate description of me. I’m not a pirate, but I am Polish, and have dreadlocks.

    5. Big Trouble in Little China is probably my all-time favorite movie.

    6. Japan is the only foreign country I’ve ever been to (Canada doesn’t count).

    Dread Polack

    January 20, 2009 at 11:27 am

  7. Cool! Thanks for playing! :)

    Felicia Gilljam

    January 21, 2009 at 5:30 pm

  8. This looks like fun!

    1. I collect figurines with “angel” wings because I like wings and I’m always fantasizing about having a pair growing on my back.

    2. I love pork. I seriously, absolutely, LOVE pork.

    3. I don’t drink coffee. I prefer tea.

    4. I’ve a habit of patting and feeding stray cats and dogs.

    5. I can’t drive to save my ass even though I’ve a driver’s license. The last time I tried to parallel park my car (which was 10 years ago), I sucked so bad at it a small crowd gathered to watch. When I finally got the car in (only after the vehicle in front of me moved off), said crowd clapped and cheered. This is a true story.

    6. I hate leeches.

    Yoke

    January 22, 2009 at 5:04 am

  9. I found this blog through the Ladyblog Awards and was pleased to find another person who only half-obeys meme rules. I was tagged with this in September and did the same thing – wrote the six things, but didn’t tag anyone. You can see what I wrote at http://judyredman.wordpress.com/2008/09/28/six-unspectacular-things-about-me/.

    Judy Redman

    January 22, 2009 at 10:38 pm

  10. 1. My favorite position is woman-on-top.
    2. I just finished eating an open-faced sandwich consisting of: honey roasted peanut butter, blueberry jam, and dried blueberries, cherries, and cranberries on German dark wheat bread. Yum!
    3. I regularly indulge in the ancient practice of smoking a certain herb of dubious legality.
    4. My favorite childhood television program was She-Ra: Princess of Power.
    5. I have been drinking coffee since age five, starting with Cuban espresso (highly diluted w/milk.)
    6. My boyfriend and I are undefeated Cranium champions.

    Non-random comment: I’ve been reading and enjoying this blog since following a link from SAB in July. Thanks for dropping all of your Quranic knowledge on us.

    1amp1der

    January 26, 2009 at 6:06 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

